Spotlight on Canadians: Results from the General Social Survey

    Young Canadians providing care

    Young Canadians providing care

    By Amanda Bleakney


    Skip to text

    Text begins

    In recent years, there has been a growing interest in young adults who contribute to the well-being of those with long-term health conditions, disabilities or age-related problems (Charles et al. 2012). These young Canadians assist family and friends with the tasks of daily living, transportation, home maintenance, and other caregiving activities.

    While they share many similarities with their older counterparts, young caregivers, defined here as those aged 15 to 29 years, are a unique group. They are at an important stage of physical, emotional, and mental development, where most have not yet solidified life plans and choices. Consequently, taking on the role as caregiver could interfere with life pursuits. Education and career development may be postponed, and delays may be experienced in leaving the family home, getting married, and having children (Levine et al. 2005).Note 1

    Using data from the 2012 General Social Survey (GSS) on Caregiving and Care Receiving, this report presents the number of young caregivers in Canada, the relationship of these caregivers to the care recipient, the intensity of caregiving, and the types of care provided. The report concludes to highlight the impact of caregiving duties on young caregivers, examining the possible consequences on education, paid work and mental and physical health.

    One in four young Canadians provided care to a family member or friend

    In 2012, an estimated 1.9 million young Canadians, or 27% of the population aged 15 to 29, provided some form of care to a family member or friend with a long-term health condition, disability, or aging needs. This care was provided in the 12 months preceding the survey. Canadians between the ages of 15 and 24 were equally as likely as those aged 25 to 29 to have caregiving responsibilities.

    Rates of caregiving were consistently higher among young women. In total, an estimated 31% of women under the age of 30 provided care, compared to 24% of young men.

    Young caregivers most often caring for their grandparents

    Providing care was not always restricted to helping one family member, friend, or neighbour. About one in four (28%) young caregivers provided care to two people, while 19% provided care to three or more family members or friends.

    Ailing grandparents were the most frequent recipients of young caregivers’ help. In 2012, four in ten young caregivers reported primarily helping their grandparent over the past year. Most times, grandmothers, rather than grandfathers, were the recipients of this care (75% versus 25%). This likely reflects the greater life expectancies among women, and their corresponding higher representation within the senior population (Milan and Vézina 2011).

    Parents were the next most common group, with 27% of young caregivers looking after the needs of their parent. While less common, 14% of young caregivers reported helping friends or neighbours, and 11% had provided some form of help to a sibling or extended family member.

    There were some variations in the types of people helped, based on the age of the caregiver. In particular, providing care to a grandparent was more commonly reported by caregivers aged 15 to 24 years than those in their mid- to late-twenties (47% and 31%). The opposite was true for parental care, where caregivers in their mid- to late-twenties were more likely than their younger counterparts to provide care to a parent (32% and 24%).

    Age-related needs most common reason for providing care

    Young caregivers were asked about the type of health problem requiring care. Around one-third (29%) were helping a family member, friend or neighbour because of age-related needs, making it the most common reason for providing care. Next was cancer at 10%, followed by cardio-vascular problems and mental illness, both at 8%.

    Not unexpectedly, aging needs or frailty were by far the most often reported by those caring for grandparents (55%). Cancer and dementia were the next most common, each reported by about 8% of young people caring for a grandparent. Reasons for providing care to parents were more varied. Cardio-vascular problems (15%), cancer (14%), and accident-related injuries (11%) topped the list of reasons cited by young people caring for a parent.

    Housework and transportation most common helping activities

    The types of help provided by young caregivers were similar to caregivers overall (Sinha 2013). Caregivers under 30 most often helped with tasks inside the home, such as meal preparation and cleaning (66%), transportation to and from appointments or shopping (66%), and house maintenance or outdoor work (60%).Note 2

    Young women and men somewhat differed in the types of tasks performed (Chart 1). Young women were more likely than their male counterparts to help with housework, personal care, and scheduling and coordinating appointments, whereas young men more often provided assistance with house maintenance and outdoor work. These findings are consistent with the overall picture for caregivers.

    Chart 1 Young women and men differ in the types of help provided

    Description for Chart 1

    One-third of young caregivers spent 2 to 4 hours a week on caregiving

    The intensity of caregiving may vary from less than one hour per week to full-time care. Most commonly, young caregivers spent 2 to 4 hours a week caring for a family member or friend, with 32% reporting this weekly commitment (Chart 2). Another 28% spent one hour or less a week on caregiving activities. While full-time care was relatively rare, 5% of young caregivers provided care for 30 or more hours a week.

    Chart 2: Young caregivers most often spend between 2 to 4 hours a week on caregiving

    Description for Chart 2

    The weekly hours of care somewhat varied depending on the young person’s relationship to the care recipient. Caring for a grandparent was characterized by the lowest intensity of family care, despite being the most common. Young caregivers spent a median of 2 hours per week caring for a grandparent, compared to a median of 3 hours overall. Taking care of a parent required around 5 hours of help every week.

    Variations in intensity may be explained by a number of factors, such as assistance from other caregivers and the distance between the caregiver and care recipient’s homes. For instance, 35% of young people caring for a parent identified themselves as the primary caregiver. In contrast, 8% caring for their grandparent reported that they were their primary caregiver.

    There were no differences in median weekly hours of care based on the young caregiver’s age or sex.

    Most young caregivers had been providing care for 1 to 3 years

    Along with the weekly commitment to caregiving responsibilities, the intensity of care can also be measured by the duration of care. In other words, how long the caregiver has been providing care. Approximately half (47%) of young caregivers reported assisting their primary caregiver for 1 to 3 years, while 38% had been caregiving for 4 years or more. The latter was more often the case among caregivers aged 25 to 29, with 45% providing care for this length of time. A minority of young caregivers (15%) reported providing assistance for less than a year.

    Start of text box 1

    Young caregivers most prominent in Saskatchewan and Ontario

    Young people’s involvement in caregiving varied considerably by province. Consistent with the provincial rates of caregiving overall, the highest rates were recorded in Saskatchewan and Ontario, where rates were above the national average of 27% (Chart 3). The lowest rates were observed in Newfoundland and Labrador (20%) and Quebec (22%), while the remaining provinces were on par with the rate for Canada.

    Chart 3 Higher proportion of young caregivers in Saskatchewan and Ontario

    Description for Chart 3

    There are a number of factors that may contribute to provincial variations in caregiving among young Canadians, including differences in living arrangements, health conditions, and interprovincial migration of young Canadians across provinces.   

    End of text box 1

    Education adversely affected for one in five caregivers enrolled in school

    Most caregivers under the age of 30 were either going to school or working at a paid job or business, with an estimated 47% reporting their main activity as schooling and 42% as paid work. The engagement in these two areas may be adversely affected by caregiving responsibilities.Note 3

    Overall, one in five young caregivers enrolled in school reported that their studies had been affected as a result of their caregiving responsibilities. This could mean anything from missing deadlines, not attending classes, having less time to study, being distracted or experiencing any other negative outcomes related to their educational experience.

    These consequences on schooling were most often reported by young caregivers spending at least 10 hours per week on caregiving activities. Over one-third (37%) of these young caregivers reported that their caregiving responsibilities had a negative impact on their education, compared to 14% of caregivers spending less than ten hours a week on care. A few young caregivers (7%) reported that they could not attend school altogether, due to their caregiving responsibilities. They either postponed plans indefinitely or to a later date.

    For young caregivers in the paid workforce,Note 4 the impact on their caregiving responsibilities was also felt. Over one-third (36%) of young caregivers arrived to work late, left early or took time off because of their caregiving responsibilities. There was no significant difference based on the intensity of care. A further 12% of young caregivers said that they had to reduce their weekly hours of work because of their caregiving duties.

    One-third of young caregivers report being worried, anxious and tired

    Providing care to a family member or friend can be a genuinely rewarding experience. An overwhelming proportion (85%) believed that their relationship with the care recipient had strengthened during the caregiving period, compared to 5% that reported that their relationship had weakened during that time.

    Furthermore, most young caregivers found their caregiving experiences either very rewarding (78%) or somewhat rewarding (19%). This may be related to the fact that nearly three in four young caregivers felt they had a choice in taking on their caregiving responsibilities.

    Although there are positive outcomes associated with providing care to a family member or friend, caregiving duties may take a toll on a caregiver’s emotional, mental, and physical health. Worry and anxiety were the single most common feelings reported by young caregivers (39%), followed by fatigue (36%), feeling overwhelmed (28%), and feeling short-tempered or irritable (26%).

    These negative emotional, mental, and physical impacts of caregiving were typically higher for young caregivers providing 10 or more hours of care per week. Compared to other young caregivers, these higher-intensity caregivers felt more tired (58% vs. 27%), worried or anxious (54% vs. 32%), overwhelmed (47% vs. 20%), and sleep-deprived (41% vs. 14%).


    An estimated 1.9 million Canadians under the age of 30 provided some form of assistance to an ailing family member or friend, most often a grandparent or parent. The weekly commitment varied, with young caregivers providing a median of 3 hours of care per week. Help with cooking and cleaning topped the list of helping activities, along with providing transportation and helping with home maintenance and outdoor work.

    Caregiving had a positive impact on most young Canadians, though some reported negative consequences on their schooling or paid work, as a result of their caregiving responsibilities. The impact on work was magnified among those who provided longer hours of care.

    Data source

    This report is based on Cycle 26 of the General Social Survey (GSS) on “Caregiving and Care Receiving”. The objectives of this survey are to provide estimates of caregiving and care receiving in Canada and the characteristics of care receivers and caregivers.


    The target population included all persons 15 years and older living in the ten provinces of Canada, excluding full-time residents of institutions. In 2012, all respondents were interviewed by telephone. Households without telephones or with only cellular phone service were excluded. Based on the most recent Residential Telephone Services Survey, conducted in 2010, these two groups combined represented approximately 14% of the target population. This proportion may be higher for 2012 due to the likely increase in cellular-only households. Survey estimates were adjusted (weighted) to represent all persons in the target population, including those without telephones. Once a household was contacted, an individual 15 years or older was randomly selected to respond to the survey. The sample size in 2012 was 23,093 respondents.

    Data collection

    Data collection took place from March 2012 to January 2013 inclusively. Computer assisted telephone interviewing (CATI) was used to collect data. Respondents were interviewed in the official language of their choice. Proxy interviews were permitted. These represented 4% of all interviews.

    Response rates

    The overall response rate was 65.7%. Types of non-response included respondents who refused to participate, could not be reached, or could not speak English or French. Survey estimates were weighted to represent the non-institutionalized Canadian population aged 15 years or over.

    Data limitations

    As with any household survey, there are some data limitations. The results are based on a sample and are therefore subject to sampling error. Somewhat different results might have been obtained if the entire population had been surveyed. This article uses the coefficient of variation (CV) as a measure of the sampling error. An estimate that has a CV between 16.6 and 33.3 should be used with caution and the symbol ‘E’ is referenced with the estimate. Where descriptive statistics and cross-tabular analysis were used, statistically significant differences were determined based on a p value of 5%.


    Charles, G., Stainton, T., and Marshall, S. 2012 (July 3).“Young Carers in Canada – The Hidden Costs and Benefits of Young Caregiving”. A Vanier Institute of the Family Publication, (Accessed July 22, 2014)

    Fruhauf, C.A., & Orel, N.A. 2008. « Developmental issues of grandchildren who provide care to grandparents”, International Journal of Human Development, 67, 209-230. doi:10.2190/AG.67.3.b.

    Howard, K., & Singleton, J.F. 2001. “The forgotten generation: The impact a grandmother with Alzheimer’s disease has on a granddaughter”, Activities, Adaptation, & Aging, 25, 45-57. doi:10.1300/J016v25n02_03.

    Levine, C., Gibson Hunt, G., Halper, D., Hart, A.Y., Lautz, J., and Gould, D.A. 2005. “Young Adults Caregivers: A First Look at an Unstudied Population”, American Journal of Public Health. 95(11). 2071-2075.

    Milan, A., & Vézina, M. 2011. “Senior Women”, Women in Canada: A Gender-based Statistical Report. Catalogue no. 89-503-X.

    Sinha, M. 2013. “Portrait of caregivers, 2012”, Spotlight on Canadians: Results from the General Social Survey. Catalogue no. 89-652-X – No. 001.

    Siskowski, C. 2003. From Their Eyes…Family Health Situations Influence Students’ Learning and Lives in Palm Beach County, Grades 6-12. West Palm Beach, Florida. Available at: Accessed August 19, 2005.

    Treas, J. 2008. “Transnational Older Adults and Their Families”, Family Relations. 57, 468-478.


    Date modified:

Publications

    Mettre l'accent sur les Canadiens : résultats de l'Enquête sociale générale

    Les jeunes Canadiens fournissant des soins

    Les jeunes Canadiens fournissant des soins

    par Amanda Bleakney

    [Faits saillants]

    Passer au texte

    Début du texte

    Depuis quelques années, on s’intéresse de plus en plus aux jeunes adultes qui contribuent au bien-être de personnes ayant un problème de santé de longue durée, une incapacité ou des problèmes liés au vieillissement (Charles et coll. 2012). Ces jeunes Canadiens aident un membre de leur famille ou un ami à accomplir des activités de la vie quotidienne, à se déplacer ou à entretenir leur maison, et leur prodiguent d’autres soins.

    Bien qu’ils partagent beaucoup de caractéristiques avec leurs contreparties plus âgées, les jeunes soignants, qui s’entendent des personnes soignantes de 15 à 29 ans, constituent un groupe unique. Ils sont à une étape importante de leur développement physique, émotionnel et mental, et la plupart n’ont pas encore fait de plans et de choix de vie définitifs. En conséquence, le rôle de soignant pourrait interférer avec leurs objectifs personnels. Leur scolarité et leur avancement professionnel peuvent être reportés, et ils peuvent tarder à quitter le nid familial, à se marier et à avoir des enfants (Levine et coll. 2005)Note 1.

    À partir des données de l’Enquête sociale générale (ESG) de 2012 sur les soins donnés et reçus, le présent rapport décrit le nombre de jeunes soignants au Canada, les relations de ces soignants avec les bénéficiaires des soins, l’intensité des soins et les types de soins fournis. En conclusion, le rapport souligne l’incidence des responsabilités d’aidant sur les jeunes soignants et examine les conséquences possibles sur leur scolarité, leur travail rémunéré et leur santé mentale et physique.

    Un jeune Canadien sur quatre a fourni des soins à un membre de la famille ou à un ami

    En 2012, on estime à 1,9 million, soit 27 % de la population des 15 à 29 ans, le nombre de jeunes Canadiens qui ont fourni, d’une quelconque façon, des soins à un membre de la famille ou à un ami ayant un problème de santé de longue durée, une incapacité ou des problèmes liés au vieillissement. Ces soins ont été prodigués dans les 12 mois précédant l’enquête. Les Canadiens âgés de 15 à 24 ans étaient aussi susceptibles que ceux du groupe des 25 à 29 ans d’avoir des responsabilités d’aidant.

    Les taux de prestation de soins étaient toujours plus élevés chez les jeunes femmes. Dans l’ensemble, on estime que 31 % des femmes de moins de 30 ans ont fourni des soins, comparativement à 24 % des jeunes hommes.

    Les jeunes soignants s’occupent le plus souvent de leurs grands-parents

    Les soins fournis ne se limitaient pas toujours à aider un seul membre de la famille, ami ou voisin. Environ un jeune soignant sur quatre (28 %) fournissait des soins à deux personnes, alors que 19 % fournissaient des soins à trois membres de la famille et amis ou plus.

    Les grands-parents malades étaient le plus souvent les bénéficiaires de l’aide des jeunes soignants. En 2012, quatre jeunes soignants sur dix ont déclaré avoir aidé principalement un grand-parent au cours de l’année précédente. La plupart du temps, ce sont les grand-mères, plutôt que les grands-pères, qui ont reçu ces soins (75 % contre 25 %). Cette situation est probablement attribuable à l’espérance de vie supérieure des femmes, qui fait que celles-ci constituent une plus grande part de la population des personnes âgées (Milan et Vézina 2011).

    Les parents représentaient le deuxième groupe en importance de bénéficiaires de soins, 27 % des jeunes soignants veillant aux besoins d’un de leurs parents. Bien que la situation soit moins fréquente, 14 % des jeunes soignants ont déclaré aider un ami ou un voisin, et 11 % ont aidé d’une quelconque façon un frère ou une sœur ou un membre de la famille élargie.

    Les types de personne aidées variaient quelque peu en fonction de l’âge du jeune soignant. Plus particulièrement, les soignants de 15 à 24 ans déclaraient prodiguer des soins à un grand-parent plus souvent que les soignants de 25 à 29 ans (47 % contre 31 %). La situation inverse s’appliquait aux soins à un parent; de fait, les soignants âgés de 25 à 29 ans étaient plus susceptibles que leurs contreparties plus jeunes de fournir des soins à un parent (32 % contre 24 %).

    Les besoins liés au vieillissement étaient la raison la plus courante des soins fournis

    On a demandé aux jeunes soignants les types de problème de santé pour lesquels ils prodiguaient des soins. Environ le tiers (29 %) aidait un membre de la famille, un ami ou un voisin en raison de problèmes liés au vieillissement, ce qui en fait la raison la plus courante des soins fournis. Viennent ensuite le cancer (10 %), les problèmes cardiovasculaires (8 %) et la maladie mentale (8 %).

    Comme on pouvait s’y attendre, les besoins liés au vieillissement ou à la perte d’autonomie étaient de loin les plus souvent déclarés par les jeunes s’occupant d’un grand-parent (55 %), suivis du cancer (environ 8 %) et de la démence (8 %). Les raisons expliquant les soins prodigués à un parent étaient plus variées, les problèmes cardiovasculaires (15 %), le cancer (14 %) et les blessures liées à un accident (11 %) arrivant en tête de liste.

    L’exécution de travaux ménagers et le transport sont les activités d’aide les plus courantes

    Les types d’aide fournis par les jeunes soignants étaient comparables à ceux que prodiguent l’ensemble des personnes soignantes (Sinha 2013). Les soignants âgés de moins de 30 ans aidaient le plus souvent pour les tâches dans la maison, comme la préparation des repas et le ménage (66 %), le transport pour les rendez-vous ou les courses (66 %) et l’entretien de la maison et les travaux extérieurs (60 %)Note 2.

    Les types de tâches effectuées par les jeunes femmes différaient quelque peu des types de tâches effectuées par les jeunes hommes (graphique 1). Les jeunes femmes étaient plus susceptibles que leurs contreparties masculines d’aider aux travaux ménagers, aux soins personnels et à l’organisation et à la planification des rendez-vous, alors que les jeunes hommes fournissaient plus souvent une aide pour l’entretien de la maison et les travaux extérieurs. Ces constatations sont fidèles au portrait global des personnes soignantes.

    Graphique 1 Les jeunes femmes et les jeunes hommes ne fournissent pas les mêmes types d'aide

    Description du graphique 1

    Le tiers des jeunes soignants consacraient de deux à quatre heures par semaine à la prestation de soins

    L’intensité des soins allait de moins d’une heure par semaine à des soins à temps plein. Le plus souvent, soit dans 32 % des cas (graphique 2), les jeunes soignants consacraient de deux à quatre heures par semaine aux soins à un membre de la famille ou à un ami. Un autre 28 % consacraient une heure ou moins par semaine à des activités de soins. Bien que la prestation de soins à temps plein était relativement rare, 5 % des jeunes soignants fournissaient 30 heures de soins ou plus par semaine.

    Graphique 2  Les jeunes soignants consacrent le plus souvent de deux à quatre heures par semaine à la prestation de soins

    Description du graphique 2

    Le nombre d’heures consacrées chaque semaine aux soins variait quelque peu en fonction du lien unissant le jeune soignant et la personne bénéficiant des soins. Les soins à un grand-parent, pourtant les plus courants, étaient ceux dont l’intensité était la plus faible. Les jeunes soignants consacraient une médiane de deux heures par semaine aux soins à un grand-parent, comparativement à une médiane globale de trois heures. Les soins à un parent exigeaient environ cinq heures par semaine.

    Les variations d’intensité peuvent s’expliquer par un certain nombre de facteurs, comme l’aide offerte par d’autres personnes soignantes et la distance qui séparait le jeune soignant du bénéficiaire des soins. Par exemple, 35 % des jeunes Canadiens s’occupant d’un parent se sont identifiés comme étant la principale personne soignante. En revanche, 8 % des jeunes s’occupant d’un grand-parent ont déclaré être la principale personne soignante.

    On n’a constaté aucune différence entre le nombre médian d’heures de soins par semaine en fonction de l’âge ou du sexe du jeune soignant.

    La majorité des jeunes soignants fournissaient des soins depuis un à trois ans

    En plus de l’engagement hebdomadaire à l’égard des responsabilités d’aidant, on peut aussi mesurer l’intensité des soins en fonction de la durée des soins, c’est-à-dire depuis quand la personne soignante fournit des soins. Environ la moitié (47 %) des jeunes soignants ont déclaré aider le principal bénéficiaire de soins depuis un à trois ans, alors que 38 % fournissaient des soins depuis quatre ans ou plus. Ces derniers se trouvaient plus souvent chez les soignants âgés de 25 à 29 ans, 45 % d’entre eux donnant des soins depuis autant d’années. Un faible nombre de jeunes soignants (15 %) ont déclaré fournir des soins depuis moins d’un an.

    Début de l'encadré 1

    Les jeunes soignants étaient plus nombreux en Saskatchewan et en Ontario

    La participation des jeunes à la prestation de soins variait considérablement d’une province à l’autre. Tout comme le montrent les taux provinciaux de prestation de soins dans l’ensemble, les taux les plus élevés ont été constatés en Saskatchewan et en Ontario, où ils étaient supérieurs à la moyenne nationale de 27 % (graphique 3). Les taux les plus faibles ont été observés à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (20 %) et au Québec (22 %); dans les autres provinces, les taux correspondaient à la moyenne canadienne.

    Graphique 3 La proportion des jeunes soignants était plus élevée en Saskatchewan et en Ontario

    Description du graphique 3

    Un certain nombre de facteurs peuvent expliquer les variations interprovinciales en matière de prestation de soins par les jeunes Canadiens, y compris les différences dans les modalités de vie, les états de santé et la migration interprovinciale des jeunes Canadiens.

    Fin de l'encadré 1

    Les responsabilités d’aidant nuisaient aux études d’un jeune soignant sur cinq

    La plupart des soignants de moins de 30 ans soit fréquentaient l’école, soit avaient un emploi rémunéré ou travaillaient à leur propre compte, environ 47 % ayant déclaré que leur principale activité était les études, et 42 %, un travail rémunéré. Les responsabilités d’aidant peuvent nuire à l’engagement à l’égard de ces deux activitésNote 3.

    Dans l’ensemble, un jeune soignant sur cinq inscrit à l’école a déclaré que ses responsabilités d’aidant perturbaient ses études. Cela peut aller de la présentation tardive de travaux à l’absence aux cours, en passant par une réduction du temps consacré à l’étude, des difficultés de concentration ou d’autres effets indésirables sur les études.

    Ces conséquences sur les études ont le plus souvent été déclarées par les jeunes soignants qui consacraient au moins 10 heures par semaine à des activités de prestation de soins. Plus du tiers (37 %) de ces jeunes soignants ont déclaré que leurs responsabilités d’aidant avaient une incidence défavorable sur leurs études, comparativement à 14 % des jeunes soignants consacrant moins de dix heures par semaine à la prestation de soins. Quelques jeunes soignants (7 %) ont dit qu’ils ne pouvaient tout simplement pas aller l’école à cause de leurs responsabilités d’aidant. Ils avaient soient mis de côté leurs plans pour une période indéterminée ou reporté leurs études à une date ultérieure.

    Les jeunes soignants actifs sur le marché du travailNote 4 ressentaient également les répercussions de leurs responsabilités d’aidant. Plus du tiers (36 %) des jeunes soignants sont arrivés au travail en retard, ont dû partir tôt ou se sont absentés pendant la journée à cause de leurs responsabilités d’aidant. Aucune différence significative n’a été observée en fonction de l’intensité des soins fournis. Par ailleurs, 12 % des jeunes soignants ont dit qu’ils avaient dû réduire leurs heures de travail hebdomadaires à cause de leurs responsabilités d’aidant.

    Le tiers des jeunes soignants déclarent être inquiets, angoissés et fatigués

    La prestation de soins à un membre de la famille ou à un ami peut se révéler une expérience réellement gratifiante. Une très grande proportion (85 %) des répondants estimaient que leur relation avec le bénéficiaire des soins s’était renforcée durant la période où ils lui donnaient des soins, comparativement à 5 % qui ont déclaré que leur relation s’était dégradée.

    En outre, la plupart des jeunes soignants ont dit que leur expérience d’aidant était très gratifiante (78 %) ou quelque peu gratifiante (19 %). Ces réponses peuvent s’expliquer par le fait que près de trois jeunes soignants sur quatre estimaient qu’ils avaient le choix d’accepter ou non leurs responsabilités d’aidant.

    Bien que la prestation de soins à un membre de la famille ou à un ami s’accompagne de résultats positifs, les responsabilités d’aidant peuvent avoir des répercussions sur la santé émotionnelle, mentale et physique des personnes soignantes. L’inquiétude et l’angoisse étaient les sentiments les plus souvent déclarés par les jeunes soignants (39 %), suivis de la fatigue (36 %), du sentiment d’être débordé (28 %) et de la colère et de l’irritabilité (26 %).
                                                          
    Ces répercussions négatives sur les plans émotionnel, mental et physique des personnes soignantes étaient généralement supérieures chez les jeunes soignants fournissant 10 heures de soins ou plus par semaine. Comparativement aux autres jeunes soignants, ils se sentaient plus fatigués (58 % contre 27 %), inquiets ou angoissés (54 % contre 32 %) et débordés (47 % contre 20 %) et manquaient de sommeil (41 % contre 14 %).

    Sommaire

    On estime qu’environ 1,9 million de Canadiens de moins de 30 ans ont fourni d’une quelconque façon des soins à un membre de la famille ou à un ami malade, le plus souvent un grand-parent ou un parent. Le temps consacré à ces soins chaque semaine variait, les jeunes soignants fournissant un nombre médian de trois heures de soins par semaine. L’aide à la préparation des repas et au ménage constituaient les principales activités, ainsi que le transport et l’aide pour l’entretien de la maison et les travaux extérieurs.

    La prestation de soins avait une incidence positive sur la plupart des jeunes Canadiens, bien que certains aient déclaré que leurs responsabilités d’aidant avaient des conséquences défavorables sur leurs études ou leur emploi rémunéré. Ces conséquences sur le travail étaient amplifiées chez ceux qui fournissaient un plus grand nombre d’heures de soins.

    Source des données

    Le présent rapport est fondé sur le cycle 26 de l’Enquête sociale générale (ESG) portant sur les soins donnés et reçus. Cette enquête vise à fournir des estimations sur la prestation et l’obtention de soins au Canada ainsi que sur les caractéristiques des bénéficiaires de soins et des aidants familiaux.

    Échantillonnage

    La population cible comprenait toutes les personnes de 15 ans et plus vivant dans les dix provinces du Canada, sauf les résidents à temps plein d’établissements. En 2012, tous les répondants ont été interviewés par téléphone. Les ménages qui ne possédaient pas de téléphone et ceux qui utilisaient uniquement un téléphone cellulaire ont été exclus. Selon la plus récente Enquête sur le service téléphonique résidentiel, menée en 2010, ces deux groupes combinés représentaient environ 14 % de la population cible. Cette proportion pourrait être plus élevée pour l’enquête de 2012 étant donné la hausse probable du nombre de ménages ayant seulement un téléphone cellulaire. Les estimations de l’enquête ont été ajustées (pondérées) de manière à représenter tous les membres de la population cible, y compris ceux ne possédant pas de téléphone ou ayant seulement un téléphone cellulaire. Une fois que l’on avait contacté un ménage, une personne de 15 ans et plus était sélectionnée de façon aléatoire pour participer à l’enquête. En 2012, la taille de l’échantillon s’établissait à 23 093 répondants.

    Collecte des données

    Les données ont été recueillies entre mars 2012 et janvier 2013 inclusivement. On a eu recours aux interviews téléphoniques assistées par ordinateur (ITAO) pour recueillir les données. Les répondants ont été interviewés dans la langue officielle de leur choix. L’interview par personne interposée était permise. Cette situation représentait 4 % des interviews.

    Taux de réponse

    Le taux de réponse global se situait à 65,7 %. Les catégories de non-réponse comprenaient les personnes qui ont refusé de participer, qui n’ont pu être jointes ou qui ne parlaient ni l’anglais ni le français. Les estimations de l’enquête ont été pondérées pour représenter la population canadienne de 15 ans et plus ne vivant pas en établissement.

    Limites des données

    Comme c’est le cas de toutes les enquêtes-ménages, les données comportent des limites. Les résultats reposent sur un échantillon et, par conséquent, sont sujets à des erreurs d’échantillonnage. Des résultats légèrement différents auraient pu être obtenus si toute la population avait participé à l’enquête. Dans le présent article, nous utilisons le coefficient de variation (c.v.) comme mesure de l’erreur d’échantillonnage. Lorsque le c.v. d’une estimation se situe entre 16,6 % et 33,3 %, on utilise le symbole « E » et il faut se servir de cette estimation avec prudence. Dans le cas des statistiques descriptives et des analyses par recoupement, des différences statistiquement significatives ont été déterminées sur la base d’une valeur p de 5 %.

    Bibliographie

    Charles, G., T. Stainton et S. Marshall. 2012 (3 juillet).« Young Carers in Canada – The Hidden Costs and Benefits of Young Caregiving ». A Vanier Institute of the Family Publication
    http://www.vanierinstitute.ca/include/get.php?nodeid=2036 (consulté le 22 juillet 2014)

    Fruhauf, C.A. et N.A. Orel. 2008. « Developmental issues of grandchildren who provide care to grandparents ». International Journal of Human Development 67,209-230. DOI:10.2190/AG.67.3.b.

    Howard, K. et J.F. Singleton. 2001. « The forgotten generation: The impact a grandmother with Alzheimer’s disease has on a granddaughter ». Activities, Adaptation, & Aging 25,45-57. DOI:10.1300/J016v25n02_03.

    Levine, C., G. Gibson Hunt, D. Halper, A.Y. Hart, J. Lautz, et D.A. Gould. 2005. « Young Adults Caregivers: A First Look at an Unstudied Population ». American Journal of Public Health 95(11). 2071-2075.

    Milan, A. et M. Vézina. 2011. « Les femmes âgées », Femmes au Canada : rapport statistique fondé sur le sexe. Produit no 89-503-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada.

    Sinha, M. 2013. « Portrait des aidants familiaux, 2012 », Mettre l’accent sur les Canadiens : résultats de l’Enquête sociale générale. Produit no 89-652-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada – No; 001.

    Siskowski, C. 2003. From Their Eyes… Family Health Situations Influence Students’ Learning and Lives in Palm Beach County, Grades 6-12. West Palm Beach (Floride). Accessible à l’adresse suivante : http://www.boca-respite.org/children.doc. (consulté le 19 août 2005)

    Treas, J. 2008. « Transnational Older Adults and Their Families », Family Relations 57, 468-478.

    Notes

    Date de modification :