Publications

    Canadian Survey on Disability 2012

    Disability in Canada: Initial findings from the Canadian Survey on Disability Start of text box

    Disability in Canada: Initial findings from the Canadian Survey on Disability

    Start of text box

    This fact sheet provides the first results of the Canadian Survey on Disability (CSD), which was conducted by Statistics Canada in the fall of 2012. The CSD provides estimates of persons reporting a disability by type in Canada. It collected essential information on supports for persons with disabilities, as well as on their employment profile, income and participation in society.

    The survey population comprised all Canadians aged 15 or older as of May 10, 2011 who were living in private dwellings. As the institutionalized population is excluded, the data, particularly for the older age groups, should be interpreted accordingly.

    The CSD uses the World Health Organization’s International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health framework of disability. This framework defines disability as the relationship between body function and structure, daily activities and social participation, while recognizing the role of environmental factors. In keeping with this framework, the CSD targeted respondents who not only have a difficulty or impairment due to a long-term condition or health problem but also experience a limitation in their daily activities. The CSD definition of disability includes anyone who reported being “sometimes”, “often” or “always” limited in their daily activities due to a long-term condition or health problem, as well as anyone who reported being “rarely” limited if they were also unable to do certain tasks or could only do them with a lot of difficulty.

    The CSD, which was funded by Employment and Social Development Canada, incorporates significant changes from the Participation and Activity Limitation Surveys (PALS) and to the way in which disability is defined. As a result, comparisons cannot be made between PALS and CSD data. For further details on these changes, refer to the Canadian Survey on Disability, 2012: Concepts and Methods Guide, forthcoming.

    End of text box

    An estimated 3.8 million adult Canadians reported being limited in their daily activities due to a disability in 2012. This represents 13.7% of the adult population.

    Pain, mobility and flexibility limitations are most prevalent

    Over 11% of Canadian adults experienced one of the three most prevalent disability types: pain, mobility or flexibility. Of those who reported at least one of these disability types in 2012, more than 40% experienced all three at the same time.

    The next most commonly reported disabilities were mental/psychological, 3.9%; dexterity, 3.5%; hearing, 3.2%; seeing, 2.7%; followed by memory and learning disabilities, 2.3% each. Less than 1% of Canadian adults reported a developmental disability.

    Table 1
    Prevalence of disability by type, Canada, 2012
    Table summary
    This table displays the results of prevalence of disability by type. The information is grouped by disability type (appearing as row headers), % (appearing as column headers).
    Disability type %
    Pain 9.7
    Flexibility 7.6
    Mobility 7.2
    Mental/psychological 3.9
    Dexterity 3.5
    Hearing 3.2
    Seeing 2.7
    Memory 2.3
    Learning 2.3
    Developmental 0.6
    Unknown 0.3

    Prevalence rises with age

    The prevalence of disability increases steadily with age: 2.3 million working-age Canadians (15 to 64), or 10.1%, reported having a disability in 2012, compared to 33.2% of Canadian seniors—those aged 65 or older. Within the working-age population, those reporting a disability was 4.4% for people aged 15 to 24, 6.5% for those 25 to 44 and 16.1% for those 45 to 64. This proportion reaches 26.3% for those aged 65 to 74 and 42.5% among those 75 and older.

    The most prevalent types of disability also vary by age. In the youngest age group, 15 to 24, the most commonly reported types of disability were mental/psychological disabilities, 2.2%; learning disabilities, 2.0%; and pain, 1.9%. Among those aged 45 to 64, the most common were pain, 12.7%; flexibility, 9.8%; and mobility, 8.6%. While these three types of disabilities are also the most commonly reported among seniors, the prevalence was higher: 22.1% for pain, 20.5% for mobility and 19.3% for flexibility. The prevalence of hearing disabilities was also high among seniors, 10.4%.

    Table 2
    Prevalence of disability by sex and age group, Canada, 2012
    Table summary
    This table displays the results of prevalence of disability by sex and age group. The information is grouped by age groups (appearing as row headers), both sexes, men and women, calculated using % units of measure (appearing as column headers).
    Age groups Both sexes Men Women
    %
    Total - aged 15 and over 13.7 12.5 14.9
    15 to 64 10.1 9.5 10.7
    15 to 24 4.4 4.5 4.3
    25 to 44 6.5 6.0 7.1
    45 to 64 16.1 15.2 17.1
    65 and over 33.2 30.8 35.2
    65 to 74 26.3 25.0 27.5
    75 and over 42.5 39.8 44.5

    Women have a higher prevalence of disability in almost all age groups

    The proportion of those reporting a disability among adult women was 14.9%; for men, 12.5%. Among the oldest Canadians (those 75 and older), 44.5% of women reported a disability compared to 39.8% of men. In the 15 to 24 age group, the proportion reporting a disability for each sex was similar in 2012: 4.5% for men and 4.3% for women.

    Over one-quarter of persons with disabilities classified as having a very severe disability

    A severity score was developed for the CSD, which takes into account the number of disability types, the intensity of difficulties and the frequency of activity limitations. Using this score, persons with disabilities were classified into four severity levels: mild, moderate, severe and very severe. In 2012, 26.0% of persons with disabilities were classified as very severe; 22.5%, severe; 19.8%, moderate; and 31.7%, mild.

    More than 8 out of 10 persons with disabilities use aids and assistive devices

    Specialized equipment and aids often enable persons with disabilities to carry out their daily activities, for example by facilitating movement (e.g., wheelchairs, hand and arm supports) or helping them hear, see or learn (e.g., hearing aids, magnifiers or specialized computers). Having the appropriate aids can enable an individual to participate more fully in society. In 2012, 81.3% of persons with disabilities reported using some kind of aid or assistive device.

    This fact sheet, together with Canadian Survey on Disability, 2012: Data Tables, which includes provincial and territorial data, provides the first survey results. More data analyses and tables will be published in 2014. Custom data tables are available upon request at sasd-dssea@statcan.gc.ca.

    Date modified:

Publications

    Enquête canadienne sur l'incapacité 2012

    L'incapacité au Canada : premiers résultats de l'Enquête canadienne sur l'incapacité

    L'incapacité au Canada : premiers résultats de l'Enquête canadienne sur l'incapacité

    Début de l'encadré

    Le présent feuillet d’information présente les premiers résultats de l’Enquête canadienne sur l’incapacité (ECI), que Statistique Canada a menée à l’automne 2012. L’ECI fournit des estimations du nombre de personnes ayant déclaré une incapacité selon le type au Canada. Elle a rassemblé des renseignements essentiels sur les différents soutiens offerts aux personnes ayant une incapacité ainsi que sur leur profil d’emploi, leur revenu et leur participation à la société.

    La population couverte comprenait tous les Canadiens âgés de 15 ans et plus en date du 10 mai 2011 qui habitaient dans des logements privés. La population institutionnalisée étant exclue, les données, particulièrement pour les groupes d’âge plus âgés, doivent être interprétées en conséquence.

    L’ECI utilise le cadre de la Classification internationale du fonctionnement, du handicap et de la santé de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé. Ce cadre définit l’incapacité comme la relation entre la fonction organique et la structure anatomique, les activités quotidiennes et la participation sociale tout en tenant compte du rôle des facteurs environnementaux. En se conformant à ce cadre, L’ECI visait les répondants qui non seulement ont de la difficulté ou un problème attribuable à une condition ou à un problème de santé à long terme, mais qui se trouvent aussi limités dans leurs activités quotidiennes. La définition de l’incapacité de l’ECI comprend les personnes qui ont indiqué être « parfois », « souvent » ou « toujours » limitées dans leurs activités quotidiennes en raison d’une condition ou d’un problème de santé à long terme, ainsi que les personnes qui ont indiqué être « rarement » limitées si elles étaient également incapables d’accomplir certaines tâches ou si elles pouvaient seulement les accomplir avec beaucoup de difficulté.

    L’ECI, qui a été financée par Emploi et Développement social Canada, présente des changements importants par rapport à l’Enquête sur la participation et les limitations d’activités (EPLA) ainsi qu’une nouvelle définition de l’incapacité. Par conséquent, il n’est pas possible d’établir des comparaisons entre les données de l’EPLA et celles de l’ECI. Pour plus de détails sur ces changements, voir le Guide des concepts et méthodes de l’Enquête canadienne sur l’incapacité de 2012, qui paraîtra bientôt.

    Fin de l'encadré

    Environ 3,8 millions de Canadiens adultes ont déclaré être limités dans leurs activités quotidiennes à cause d’une incapacité en 2012, soit 13,7 % de la population adulte.

    Les limitations liées à la douleur, à la mobilité et à la flexibilité sont les plus prévalentes

    Plus de 11 % des adultes canadiens ont éprouvé un des trois types d’incapacité les plus répandus : douleur, mobilité ou flexibilité. Parmi ceux qui ont fait état d’au moins un de ces types d’incapacité en 2012, plus de 40 % ont éprouvé les trois types en même temps.

    Venaient ensuite les troubles mentaux/psychologiques (3,9 %); les incapacités liées à la dextérité (3,5 %); les incapacités liées à l’ouïe (3,2 %); les incapacités liées à la vision (2,7 %); puis les troubles de mémoire et troubles d’apprentissage (2,3 % dans chaque cas). Moins de 1 % des adultes canadiens ont fait état d’un trouble du développement.

    Tableau 1
    Prévalence de l’incapacité selon le type, Canada, 2012
    Sommaire du tableau
    Le tableau montre les résultats de prévalence de l’incapacité selon le type. Les données sont présentées selon type d’incapacité (titres de rangée) et %(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
    Type d’incapacité %
    Douleur 9,7
    Flexibilité 7,6
    Mobilité 7,2
    Mental/psychologique 3,9
    Dextérité 3,5
    Ouïe 3,2
    Vision 2,7
    Mémoire 2,3
    Apprentissage 2,3
    Développement 0,6
    Inconnu 0,3

    La prévalence augmente avec l'âge

    La prévalence de l’incapacité augmente constamment avec l’âge : 2,3 millions de Canadiens en âge de travailler (de 15 à 64 ans), ou 10,1 % du total, ont dit avoir une incapacité en 2012, comparativement à 33,2 % des aînés – les personnes âgées de 65 ans et plus. Dans la population en âge de travailler, la proportion de personnes ayant déclaré une incapacité était de 4,4 % chez les personnes âgées de 15 à 24 ans, de 6,5 % chez les personnes âgées de 25 à 44 ans et de 16,1 % chez les personnes âgées de 45 à 64 ans. Cette proportion a atteint 26,3 % chez les personnes âgées de 65 à 74 ans et de 42,5 % chez les personnes âgées de 75 ans et plus.

    Les types les plus répandus d’incapacité varient aussi selon l’âge. Dans le groupe d’âge le plus jeune, celui des personnes âgées de 15 à 24 ans, les types les plus fréquents d’incapacité étaient les troubles mentaux/psychologiques (2,2 %), les troubles d’apprentissage (2,0 %) et la douleur (1,9 %). Chez les personnes âgées de 45 à 64 ans, les plus fréquents étaient la douleur (12,7 %), la flexibilité (9,8 %) et la mobilité (8,6 %). Alors que ces trois types d’incapacité sont aussi les plus fréquents chez les personnes âgées, la prévalence chez celles-ci était plus élevée : 22,1 % pour la douleur, 20,5 % pour le manque de mobilité et 19,3 % pour le manque de flexibilité. La prévalence des troubles d’audition était aussi élevée chez les personnes âgées (10,4 %).

    Tableau 2
    Prévalence de l’incapacité selon le sexe et le groupe d’âge, Canada, 2012
    Sommaire du tableau
    Le tableau montre les résultats de prévalence de l’incapacité selon le sexe et le groupe d’âge. Les données sont présentées selon groupes d’âge (titres de rangée) et les deux sexes, hommes et femmes, calculées selon % unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
    Groupes d’âge Les deux sexes Hommes Femmes
    %
    Total – personnes âgées de 15 ans et plus 13,7 12,5 14,9
    15 à 64 ans 10,1 9,5 10,7
    15 à 24 ans 4,4 4,5 4,3
    25 à 44 ans 6,5 6,0 7,1
    45 à 64 ans 16,1 15,2 17,1
    65 ans et plus 33,2 30,8 35,2
    65 à 74 ans 26,3 25,0 27,5
    75 ans et plus 42,5 39,8 44,5

    Les femmes présentent une plus forte prévalence de l'incapacité dans presque tous les groupes d'âge

    La proportion de femmes adultes ayant déclaré une incapacité était de 14,9 % alors qu’elle était de 12,5 % chez les hommes. Chez les Canadiens les plus âgés (ceux âgés de 75 ans et plus), 44,5 % des femmes ont fait état d’une incapacité, comparativement à 39,8 % des hommes. Dans le groupe d’âge des 15 à 24 ans, la proportion de personnes qui ont déclaré une incapacité pour chaque sexe était semblable en 2012 : 4,5 % chez les hommes et 4,3 % chez les femmes.

    Plus du quart des personnes ayant une incapacité sont classées comme ayant une incapacité très sévère

    Un score de sévérité a été développé pour l’ECI et tient compte du nombre de types d’incapacité, de l’intensité des difficultés et de la fréquence des limitations d’activités. À partir de ce score, les personnes ayant une incapacité ont été classées selon quatre niveaux de sévérité : léger, modéré, sévère et très sévère. En 2012, 26,0 % des personnes ayant une incapacité étaient au niveau très sévère; 22,5 % au niveau sévère; 19,8 % au niveau modéré; et 31,7 % au niveau léger.

    Plus de huit personnes ayant une incapacité sur 10 utilisent des aides et appareils fonctionnels

    Grâce à des appareils et à des aides spécialisés, les personnes ayant une incapacité arrivent souvent à vaquer à leurs activités quotidiennes, par exemple, par des moyens qui facilitent leurs mouvements (p. ex., fauteuils roulants, appuis pour les mains et les bras) ou les aident à entendre, à voir ou à apprendre (p. ex., appareils auditifs, loupes ou ordinateurs spécialisés). L’utilisation d’appareils appropriés peut permettre à une personne de participer plus pleinement à la société. En 2012, 81,3 % des personnes ayant une incapacité ont dit utiliser un type quelconque d’aide ou d’appareil fonctionnel.

    Le présent feuillet d’information,  conjointement avec l’Enquête canadienne sur l’incapacité 2012 : tableaux de données, qui comprend des données provinciales et territoriales, présente les premiers résultats de l’enquête. D’autres analyses des données et tableaux seront publiés en 2014. On peut obtenir des tableaux de données personnalisées sur demande en écrivant à sasd-dssea@statcan.gc.ca.

    Date de modification :