Publications

Economic Insights

The Increase in Food Prices Between 2007 and 2012

The Increase in Food Prices Between 2007 and 2012

by Anne-Marie Rollin

Start of text box

This article in the Economic Insights series looks at the increase in food prices that has taken place worldwide since 2007. It answers the following questions: How have food prices evolved in Canada and in the rest of the world since 2007? How do the recent trends in Canada compare to previous episodes of rising food prices?

End of text box

Over the last few years, food prices have received increasing attention. This is partly the result of the sharp increase in worldwide food prices in 2007-2008, during which international food prices increased by 58% over two years.1 In response, organizations concerned about food security, such as the World Bank and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), have monitored food prices closely.

A relative increase

For Canada, food price inflation tended to be higher than the All-Items Consumer Price Index (CPI) inflation between 2007 and 2012 (Chart 1). However, the period from January 2008 to January 2009 corresponded to a particularly strong increase in food prices (7.4%). This time period is distinctive in that the All-items CPI actually decreased steadily between October 2008 and January 2009 in the wake of the worldwide economic downturn. The resulting gap in the cumulative increase since 2007 between the food and All-items CPI observed in January 2009 was still present in December 2012, and even widened slightly starting in mid-2011.

Prices of food in Canada have increased faster than any other major component of the CPI since 2007. Between January 2007 and December 2012, food prices rose by a cumulative 19.0%, while the All-items CPI excluding food gained a cumulative 10.7%. Over this period, food prices grew at an average annualized rate of 3.5%, compared to 2.1% for the All-items CPI.

This relative price differential had a greater impact on those Canadian households that allocate a larger proportion of their expenditures to food. This is, for example, generally the case of households with lower incomes, households headed by seniors, and households living in less populated areas, where market competition is less prevalent.2

A widespread increase

The general increase in food prices affected the vast majority of food items in Canada. Indeed, prices of all the food product groups tracked by the CPI increased faster than the All-items CPI excluding food between 2007 and 2012 (Table 1). This is also true of all product subgroups under the category ‘food purchased from stores’ with the exception of ‘seafood and other marine products’. The cumulative increase was greater than 25% for six of these product subgroups: bakery products, cereal products (excluding infant food), nuts, sugar and confectionery, fats and oil, and coffee and tea. This represented an average annualized increase above 4.5% for each of these six product subgroups.  

The absolute and relative rise in food prices has not been restricted to Canada. Many other countries have experienced an upsurge in food prices over recent years. The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) reports consumer food price indices for 39 countries (34 OECD members and 5 non-members). Among those 39 countries, 24 were subject to cumulative food price inflation greater than 15% between 2007 and 2012, which corresponded to an average annualized growth rate above 2.5% (Table 2). All of these 24 countries experienced food price inflation greater than overall price inflation.

The FAO food price index, which tracks 55 commodity quotations, gained a cumulative 33.3% between 2007 and 2012. This index consists of five commodity groups: meat, dairy, cereals, oils, and sugar. The cumulative increases for oils, cereals, and meat were all above 30% between 2007 and 2012. The price of sugar, an ingredient present in many processed-food products, more than doubled over this time period.

No single factor explains why the increase in food prices is global and widespread. Potential drivers include a generalized increase in global demand, low international stock-piles, especially for grains, high energy and fertilizer prices, adverse weather, which lowers production in some years, the intensification of the use of crops such as maize to produce biofuels, and trade policies such as export bans.3

Not only have food prices been higher since 2007, but prices of major food grains have also been more volatile than in the preceding two decades.4

Previous episodes of food price inflation in Canada

One of the most notable episodes of food price inflation in Canada started in 1972, and lasted until 1982, with an average annual increase of 10.9%. This episode was associated with the creation of the Food Prices Review Board in May 1973, which monitored price movements of selected food items until 1976.5 Many other countries also experienced high food price inflation in the 1970s in the aftermath of the first Oil Crisis.6

The more recent increase in food price inflation is not as severe as the rise that occurred in the 1970s. During the first five years of the current episode, food prices rose a cumulative 17.0% (Chart 2). This is much lower than the cumulative 67.7% rate observed during the first five years of the 1970s episode of food price inflation. Also, Canadian households have been allocating a smaller share of their expenditures to food in recent years (slightly more than 10%7) than was the case in the 1970s (more than 20%8).

During both episodes, 1972 to 1982 and 2007 to the present, food prices increased faster than the All-items CPI. In the 1970s, the price of most commodities rose substantially at the time of the first Oil Crisis.9 What is different this time is that food price inflation increased while the All-items CPI inflation rate slowed at the end of 2008 in the midst of the global economic slowdown. The increase in the All-items CPI has remained lower than the increase in the food price index since then.

Conclusion

The current episode is part of a longer-term increase in food prices in Canada. After increasing in the 1970s and early 1980s, food price inflation slowed significantly during the following decade, to reach a low in the early 1990s. Since then, food price inflation in Canada has tended to accelerate.10

As is the case for many other countries, prices of food in Canada have increased markedly in both absolute and relative terms since 2007. This food price inflation is a global phenomenon, widespread across many countries and commodities. While the present increase in food prices in Canada is not unprecedented, the five-year cumulative food price inflation experienced between 2007 and 2012 is one of the highest experienced in twenty years.

References

Harnarine, H. 1993a. Some landmarks in the development of the Consumer Price Index for Canada: Part I. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 62-001-X. Ottawa, Ontario. The Consumer Price Index. Vol. 72. No. 9.

Harnarine, H. 1993b. Some landmarks in the development of the CPI ─ Part 2. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 62-001-X. Ottawa, Ontario. The Consumer Price Index. Vol. 72. No. 10.

Statistics Canada. 2009. Human Activity and the Environment: Annual Statistics 2009. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 16-201-X. Ottawa, Ontario.

Statistics Canada. 2010. Spending Patterns in Canada: 2009. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 62-202-X. Ottawa, Ontario.

World Bank. 2012. Responding to Higher and More Volatile World Food Prices. Economic and Sector Work. Report Number 68420-GLB.


Notes

  1. Derived from the FAO Food Price Index.
  2. See Statistics Canada’s CANSIM tables 203-0021 to 203-0026, which present estimates from the Survey of Household Spending (SHS) for the 2010 reference year.
  3. See World Bank (2012).
  4. See World Bank (2012).
  5. See Harnarine (1993b).
  6. Historical food price data are available for some OECD member countries. The following countries experienced a prolonged period of high food price inflation starting in 1972 or 1973: the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Italy, Portugal, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, and Japan.
  7. See Statistics Canada (2010), Table 1, p. 16.
  8. See Statistics Canada (2009), Chart 1.1, p. 12.
  9. See Harnarine (1993a).
  10. Chart 2 was also done using a five-year moving average of annual changes instead of a five-year cumulative change. The trend over the entire period is the same. Starting in 2009, the five-year moving average for food has been above 3.0%, compared to less than 2.0% for the All-items CPI.
Date modified:

Publications

Aperçus économiques

L'augmentation des prix des aliments entre 2007 et 2012

L'augmentation des prix des aliments entre 2007 et 2012

par Anne-Marie Rollin

Start of text box

Cet article de la série Aperçus économiques traite de l’augmentation des prix des aliments constatée partout dans le monde depuis 2007. Il vise à répondre aux questions suivantes : Comment les prix des aliments ont-ils évolué au Canada et dans le reste du monde depuis 2007? Comment les tendances récentes observées au Canada se comparent-elles aux épisodes antérieurs de hausse des prix des aliments?

End of text box

Ces dernières années, les prix des aliments ont suscité une attention croissante. Cette situation tient en partie à la hausse mondiale prononcée observée en 2007-2008, période durant laquelle, à l’échelle internationale, les prix des aliments ont augmenté de 58 % en deux ans1. En réaction, les organismes qui se préoccupent de la sécurité alimentaire, dont la Banque mondiale et l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO), ont surveillé de près les prix des aliments.

Une hausse relative

Au Canada, entre 2007 et 2012, l’inflation des prix des aliments a eu tendance à être plus prononcée que celle de l’Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) d’ensemble (graphique 1). Cependant, la période allant de janvier 2008 à janvier 2009 a été marquée par une hausse particulièrement prononcée des prix des aliments (7,4 %). Cette période est remarquable en ce sens que l’IPC d’ensemble a diminué régulièrement d’octobre 2008 à janvier 2009, à la suite du ralentissement mondial de l’activité économique. L’écart résultant entre la hausse cumulée depuis 2007 de l’IPC des aliments et celle de l’IPC d’ensemble enregistré en janvier 2009 persistait en décembre 2012, et avait même augmenté légèrement à partir du milieu de 2011.

Au Canada, les prix des aliments ont augmenté plus rapidement que ceux de toute autre composante principale de l’IPC depuis 2007. De janvier 2007 à décembre 2012, leur hausse cumulée a été de 19,0 %, alors que la progression cumulée de l’IPC d’ensemble excluant les aliments s’est chiffrée à 10,7 %. Au cours de cette période, les prix des aliments ont augmenté au taux annualisé moyen de 3,5 %, comparativement à 2,1 % pour l’IPC d’ensemble.

Cet écart de prix relatif a touché principalement les ménages canadiens qui consacrent une part importante de leurs dépenses à l’alimentation. Sont généralement dans cette situation, par exemple, les ménages à faible revenu, les ménages ayant à leur tête des personnes âgées et les ménages vivant dans les régions peu peuplées, où la concurrence du marché est moins prononcée2.

Une hausse généralisée

La vaste majorité des produits alimentaires ont été touchés par la hausse générale des prix des aliments au Canada. Ainsi, de 2007 à 2012, les prix de tous les groupes de produits alimentaires suivis dans l’IPC ont augmenté plus rapidement que l’IPC d’ensemble excluant les aliments (tableau 1). La constatation est la même pour tous les sous-groupes de produits inclus dans la catégorie « Aliments achetés en magasin », à l’exception des « fruits de mer et autres produits de la mer ». La hausse cumulée était supérieure à 25 % pour six de ces sous-groupes de produits, à savoir les produits de boulangerie, les produits céréaliers (excluant les aliments pour bébé), les noix, le sucre et les confiseries, les graisses et les huiles, ainsi que le café et le thé. Cela représentait, en moyenne, une hausse annualisée supérieure à 4,5 % pour chacun de ces six sous-groupes.

La progression tant absolue que relative des prix des aliments ne s’est pas limitée au Canada. De nombreux autres pays ont vu grimper les prix des aliments ces dernières années. L’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE) publie les indices des prix à la consommation des aliments de 39 pays (34 pays membres de l’OCDE et 5 pays non membres). De ces 39 pays, 24 ont connu une inflation cumulée des prix des aliments supérieure à 15 % entre 2007 et 2012, ce qui représente un taux de croissance annualisé moyen supérieur à 2,5 % (tableau 2). Dans chacun de ces 24 pays, l’inflation des prix des aliments a dépassé l’inflation globale des prix.

L’indice des prix des aliments de la FAO, qui suit les prix relevés pour 55 produits, a progressé cumulativement de 33,3 % de 2007 à 2012. Cet indice comprend cinq groupes de produits, à savoir la viande, les produits laitiers, les céréales, les huiles et le sucre. Pour les huiles, les céréales et la viande, les augmentations cumulées étaient toutes supérieures à 30 % entre 2007 et 2012. Le prix du sucre, ingrédient qui entre dans la composition de nombreux produits alimentaires transformés, a plus que doublé durant cette période.

Aucun facteur n’explique à lui seul pourquoi la hausse des prix des aliments est mondiale et généralisée. Les déterminants possibles comprennent un accroissement  généralisé de la demande mondiale, le faible niveau des stocks internationaux, surtout les réserves de céréales, les prix élevés de l’énergie et des engrais, les conditions climatiques inclémentes, qui réduisent la production certaines années, l’utilisation croissante de récoltes, dont le maïs, pour produire des biocarburants, et les politiques d’échanges, comme les embargos sur les exportations3.

Non seulement les prix des aliments ont augmenté depuis 2007, mais ceux des principales céréales vivrières ont également été plus volatils qu’au cours des deux décennies précédentes4.

Épisodes antérieurs d’inflation des prix des aliments au Canada

L’un des épisodes d’inflation des prix des aliments les plus marquants au Canada a débuté en 1972 et a duré jusqu’en 1982, période durant laquelle la hausse annuelle moyenne a été de 10,9 %. Cet épisode a été associé à la création, en mai 1973, de la Commission de surveillance du prix des produits alimentaires, qui a surveillé les fluctuations des prix de certaines denrées jusqu’en 19765. De nombreux autres pays ont connu une forte inflation des prix des aliments durant les années 1970, au lendemain de la première crise pétrolière6.

L’augmentation récente de l’inflation des prix des aliments n’est pas aussi sévère que celle des années 1970. Au cours des cinq premières années de l’épisode courant, la hausse cumulée des prix des aliments a été de 17,0 % (graphique 2). Ce taux cumulé est nettement plus faible que celui de 67,7 % observé durant les cinq premières années de l’épisode d’inflation des prix des aliments des années 1970. En outre, dernièrement, les ménages canadiens ont consacré aux aliments une part plus faible de leurs dépenses (un peu plus de 10 %7) qu’au cours des années 1970 (plus de 20 %8).

Durant les deux épisodes, de 1972 à 1982 et de 2007 à aujourd’hui, les prix des aliments ont augmenté plus rapidement que l’IPC d’ensemble. Pendant les années 1970, les prix de la plupart des produits ont augmenté fortement au moment de la première crise pétrolière9.  Par contre, cette fois-ci, l’inflation des prix des aliments s’est accentuée alors que le taux d’inflation de l’IPC d’ensemble a diminué à la fin de 2008 durant le ralentissement économique mondial. Depuis, la hausse de l’IPC d’ensemble est restée inférieure à celle de l’indice des prix des aliments.

Conclusion

L’épisode courant s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une augmentation de plus long terme des prix des aliments au Canada. Après avoir progressé au cours des années 1970 et au début des années 1980, l’inflation des prix des aliments a diminué considérablement au cours de la décennie suivante, pour atteindre un creux au début des années 1990. Depuis, l’inflation des prix des aliments au Canada a eu tendance à accélérer10.

Comme dans de nombreux autres pays, les prix des aliments ont augmenté sensiblement en termes tant absolus que relatifs au Canada depuis 2007. Cette inflation des prix des aliments est un phénomène mondial, qui s’étend à de nombreux pays et à de nombreux produits. Même si la hausse actuelle des prix des aliments constatée au Canada n’est pas sans précédent, l’inflation des prix des aliments cumulée sur cinq ans de 2007 à 2012 est l’une des plus fortes observées en 20 ans.

Références

Harnarine, H. 1993a. Quelques points de repère dans l’élaboration de l’indice des prix à la consommation pour le Canada : partie 1. L’indice des prix à la consommation, vol. 72, no 9. Produit no 62-001-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Harnarine, H. 1993b. Quelques points de repère dans l’élaboration de l’IPC : partie 2.  L’indice des prix à la consommation, vol. 72, no 10. Produit no 62-001-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Statistique Canada. 2009. L’activité humaine et l’environnement : statistiques annuelles 2009. Produit no 16-201-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.  

Statistique Canada. 2010. Les habitudes de dépenses au Canada: 2009. Produit no 62-202-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

World Bank. 2012. Responding to Higher and More Volatile World Food Prices. Economic and Sector Work. Report Number 68420-GLB.


Notes

  1. Calculé d’après l’indice des prix des aliments de la FAO.
  2. Voir les tableaux CANSIM 2003-0021 à 2003-0026 de Statistique Canada, qui donnent les estimations produites d’après l’Enquête sur les dépenses des ménages (EDM) pour l’année de référence 2010.
  3. Voir Banque mondiale (2012).
  4. Voir Banque mondiale (2012).
  5. Voir Harnarine (1993b).
  6. Des données historiques sur les prix des aliments sont disponibles pour certains pays membres de l’OCDE. Les pays qui suivent ont connu une période prolongée de forte inflation des prix des aliments qui a débuté en 1972 ou en 1973 : États-Unis, Royaume Uni, France, Italie, Portugal, Danemark, Finlande, Suède et Japon.
  7. Voir Statistique Canada (2010), tableau 1, p. 17.
  8. Voir Statistique Canada (2009), graphique 1.1, p. 13.
  9. Voir Harnarine (1993a).
  10. Le graphique 2 a également été produit en utilisant une moyenne mobile de cinq ans des variations annuelles au lieu d’une variation cumulée sur cinq ans. La tendance sur la période complète était la même. À partir de 2009, la moyenne mobile de cinq ans pour les aliments a été supérieure à 3,0 %, alors qu’elle était inférieure à 2,0 % pour l’IPC d’ensemble.
Date de modification :