Census subdivision - previous census

Detailed definition

'Census subdivision – previous census' refers to the census subdivisions as of January 1, 2006, the geographic reference date for the 2006 Census. A 'best fit' linkage is established between dissemination blocks for the 2011 Census and census subdivisions (municipalities) for the 2006 Census. This linkage ensures that data from the current census can be tabulated for the census subdivisions from the previous census.

Image of census subdivision - previous census

Censuses

2011, 2006, 2001

Remarks

The boundaries and names of census subdivisions (municipalities) can change from one census to the next because of annexations, dissolutions and incorporations. These changes can result in fewer, larger census subdivisions and historical data analyses becoming more complex. The concept of 'census subdivision – previous census' was established to provide a means of tabulating current census data according to census subdivisions as they were delineated for the previous census.

Census data are tabulated for each standard geographic area by aggregating the data for individual dissemination blocks. Dissemination blocks respect the boundaries of census subdivisions for the current census (2011 Census), but do not necessarily respect the boundaries of census subdivisions for the previous census (2006 Census). In order to facilitate the tabulation of 2011 Census data for the census subdivisions (CSDs) as they existed for the 2006 Census, the 2011 dissemination block representative points are overlaid onto the previous census CSD boundaries. The goal is to ensure that at least one dissemination block is linked to each previous census CSD. In a few cases, there is not an exact match—that is, some dissemination blocks straddle two or more CSDs from the previous census, but can only be linked to one CSD. For these cases, a 'best fit' approach is used to ensure that the representative point for at least one dissemination block is linked to every previous census CSD. Thus, reasonably accurate tabulations of 2011 Census data can be produced for the census subdivisions as of January 1, 2006, the geographic reference date for the 2006 Census.

Refer to the related definitions of census subdivision (CSD); dissemination block (DB); geographic reference date and representative point.

Date modified:

Subdivision de recensement – recensement précédent

Définition détaillée

Le terme « subdivision de recensement – recensement précédent » renvoie aux subdivisions de recensement en vigueur au 1er janvier 2006, date de référence géographique du Recensement de 2006. On procède au couplage des îlots de diffusion du Recensement de 2011 avec les subdivisions de recensement (municipalités) du Recensement de 2006 selon un « ajustement optimal » afin qu'on soit en mesure de totaliser les données du recensement actuel selon les subdivisions de recensement du recensement précédent.

Image de subdivision de recensement – recensement précédent

Recensements

2011, 2006, 2001

Remarques

Il est possible que les limites et les noms des subdivisions de recensement (municipalités) soient modifiés d'un recensement à un autre par suite d'annexions, de dissolutions et de constitutions. Ces changements peuvent se traduire par une diminution du nombre de subdivisions de recensement et une augmentation de la taille de celles-ci rendant plus complexes les analyses de données historiques. Le concept de « subdivision de recensement – recensement précédent » a été créé pour permettre la totalisation des données du recensement actuel selon les subdivisions de recensement telles qu'elles étaient délimitées au recensement précédent.

Les données du recensement pour chacune des régions géographiques normalisées sont totalisées en agrégeant les chiffres correspondants aux îlots de diffusion. Les îlots de diffusion respectent les limites des SDR du recensement actuel (Recensement de 2011) mais pas nécessairement celles des SDR du recensement précédent (Recensement de 2006). Pour faciliter la totalisation des données du Recensement de 2011 selon les SDR du Recensement de 2006, les points représentatifs des îlots de diffusion de 2011 sont superposés aux limites des SDR du recensement précédent. Au moins un îlot de diffusion doit être couplé à chacune des SDR du recensement précédent. Dans quelques cas, l'appariement n'est pas exact, c'est-à-dire que certains îlots de diffusion chevauchent les limites d'au moins deux SDR du recensement précédent, mais ne peuvent être couplés qu'à une seule de ces SDR. Dans ces cas, on applique la méthode de l'ajustement optimal pour que le point représentatif d'au moins un îlot de diffusion soit couplé à chacune des SDR du recensement précédent. On peut ainsi produire des totalisations assez exactes des données du Recensement de 2011 pour les subdivisions de recensement en vigueur au 1er janvier 2006, date de référence géographique du Recensement de 2006.

Se reporter aux définitions connexes de date de référence géographique; îlot de diffusion (ID); point représentatif et subdivision de recensement (SDR).

Date de modification :