Geocoding

Detailed definition

Geocoding is the process of assigning geographic identifiers (codes or x,y coordinates) to map features and data records. The resulting geocodes permit data to be linked geographically to a place on the earth.

Households, postal codesOM and place of work data are linked to block-face representative points (coordinates) when the street and address information is available; otherwise, they are linked to dissemination block (DB) representative points. In some cases, postal codesOM and place of work data are linked to dissemination area (DA) representative points when they cannot be linked to DBs. As well, place of work data are linked to census subdivision representative points when the data cannot be linked to DAs.

Image of geocoding

Censuses

2011, 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971

Remarks

Statistics Canada's Custom Area Creation Service provides census data tabulations for user-defined areas, such as provincial electoral districts, local planning areas and school districts. When tabulating census data for user-defined areas, households are included or excluded depending on whether the representative points to which they are linked fall inside or outside the user-defined area (Figure 13). Thus, the data retrieved are most precise when user-defined areas coincide with dissemination block boundaries. Census data for individual block-faces are not disseminated.

Figure 13
Example of data retrieval with user-defined boundaries

Figure 13 Example of data retrieval with user-defined boundaries

Description for Figure 13

Source: Statistics Canada, 2011 Census of Population.

Refer to related definitions of block-face; census subdivision (CSD); dissemination area (DA); dissemination block (DB); postal code; representative point and Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI).

Changes prior to the current census

Prior to 2001, households, postal codesOM and place of work data were linked to enumeration area (EA) representative points when they could not be linked to block-face representative points. As well, unrounded block-face population counts were provided for user confirmation before tabulating characteristic data for custom areas.

Date modified:

Géocodage

Définition détaillée

Le géocodage est le processus utilisé pour attribuer des identificateurs géographiques (codes ou coordonnées x,y) aux détails cartographiques et aux enregistrements de données. Les géocodes ainsi créés permettent d'apparier géographiquement les données à un endroit sur la terre.

Les ménages, les codes postauxMO et les données sur le lieu de travail sont appariés aux points représentatifs (coordonnées) de côté d'îlot lorsque la rue et l'adresse sont connues, autrement ils sont appariés aux points représentatifs d'îlot de diffusion (ID). En certain cas, les codes postauxMO et les données sur le lieu de travail sont appariés aux points représentatifs d'aire de diffusion (AD) lorsqu'il n'est pas possible de les apparier aux ID. De plus, les données sur le lieu de travail sont appariées aux points représentatifs de subdivision de recensement lorsqu'il n'est pas possible de les apparier aux AD.

Image de géocodage

Recensements

2011, 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971

Remarques

Le Service de création de régions personnalisées de Statistique Canada fournit des tableaux de données du recensement pour des secteurs définis par l'utilisateur, par exemple les circonscriptions électorales provinciales, les zones d'aménagement locales et les arrondissements scolaires. Dans les tableaux des données du recensement pour des secteurs définis par l'utilisateur, les ménages sont inclus ou exclus selon que les points représentatifs auxquels ils sont appariés se trouvent à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur du secteur défini par l'utilisateur (figure 13). Ainsi, les données extraites sont plus exactes lorsque les secteurs définis par les utilisateurs correspondent aux limites des îlots de diffusion. Les données du recensement ne sont pas diffusées au niveau de côtés d'îlot individuels.

Figure 13
Exemple d'extraction des données en utilisant des limites définies par l'utilisateur

Figure 13 Exemple d'extraction des données en utilisant des limites définies par l'utilisateur

Description de la figure 13

Source : Statistique Canada, Recensement de la population de 2011.

Se reporter aux définitions connexes d'aire de diffusion (AD); code postal; côté d'îlot; îlot de diffusion (ID); Infrastructure des données spatiales (IDS); point représentatif et subdivision de recensement (SDR).

Changements antérieurs au recensement courant

Avant 2001, les ménages, les codes postauxMO et les données sur le lieu de travail étaient appariés aux points représentatifs des secteurs de dénombrement (SD) lorsqu'ils ne pouvaient être appariés aux points représentatifs des côtés d'îlot. De plus, les chiffres de population non arrondis par côté d'îlot étaient fournis à l'utilisateur pour des besoins de confirmation avant la totalisation des caractéristiques des données pour des régions personnalisées.

Date de modification :