Definitions, data sources and methods

As part of a website improvement initiative, a new Standards, data sources and methods page has been launched.

Along with improved navigation and more in-depth information on data standards, other features will be introduced over the next few months to further enhance user experience. Please visit the new page and then share your feedback by completing a short feedback form.

The purpose of the site is to provide information that will assist in the interpretation of Statistics Canada's published data. The information (also known as metadata) is provided to ensure an understanding of the basic concepts that define the data including variables and classifications; of the underlying methodology of our surveys; and of key aspects of the data quality. It also provides direct access to questionnaires.

Surveys and statistical programs

A list of Statistics Canada surveys and statistical programs, organized in alphabetical order, by subject, or by record number. Each page includes a survey description, information on data accuracy, data sources and methodology, and links to additional documentation.

What is a Survey - Survey for which the information is collected for some units of the target population

Questionnaires

A list of questionnaires by Statistics Canada, organized in alphabetical order as well as by subject. Each page includes the questionnaire, previous versions of each questionnaire, and related surveys.

What is a Questionnaire? A questionnaire is a research instrument that consists of a set of questions for the purpose of gathering information from respondents through survey or statistical study.

Variables and statistical units

A list of variables and statistical units by Statistics Canada, organized in alphabetical order, and by subject.

What is a Variable? A variable is a characteristic of a statistical unit being observed that may assume more than one of a set of values to which a numerical measure or a category from a classification can be assigned.

What is a Statistical unit? A statistical unit is the unit of observation or measurement for which data are collected or derived.

Statistical classifications

A list of classifications organized alphabetically and by subject.

Statistical classification - A systematic grouping of the values that a variable can take comprising mutually exclusive classes, covering the full set of values, and often providing a hierarchical structure for aggregating data. More than one classification can be used to represent data for a given variable.

Public consultation and notices

A list of public consultations and notices associated with specific standards. Includes information on Statistics Canada's variables; statistical units; geographic, industry, instructional program, occupational, product, and research and development classifications.

Methodology products and services

Other important information

Links to other standards-related information of interest.

Metadata Frameworks

A list of international metadata models relevant to standards.

International links

Links to specific international standard websites.

Définitions, sources de données et méthodes

Dans le cadre d’une initiative d’amélioration du site Web, une nouvelle page intitulée « Normes, sources de données et méthodes » a été lancée.

En plus d’une navigation améliorée et de renseignements plus approfondis sur les normes de données, d’autres fonctionnalités seront intégrées au cours des prochains mois pour améliorer encore davantage l’expérience des utilisateurs. Nous vous invitons à visiter la nouvelle page et à nous laisser vos commentaires en remplissant un court formulaire.

L'objectif principal de ce module est de fournir toute l'information nécessaire pour interpréter les données que publie Statistique Canada. Les renseignements, connus aussi sous le nom de métadonnées, servent à mieux faire comprendre les concepts de base servant à définir les données incluant les variables et les classifications, les méthodes à la base de chaque enquête et les principaux aspects de la qualité des données. Également, il fournit de l'accès direct aux questionnaires.

Enquêtes et programmes statistiques

Liste des enquêtes et des programmes statistiques de Statistique Canada, organisés par ordre alphabétique, par sujet ou par numéro d'enregistrement. Chaque page comprend une description de l'enquête, des renseignements sur l'exactitude des données, les sources de données et la méthodologie, ainsi que des liens vers d'autres documents connexes.

Qu'est-ce qu'une enquête? Une enquête est une activité de collecte de données relatives à certaines unités d'une population cible.

Questionnaires

Liste des questionnaires de Statistique Canada, organisés par ordre alphabétique et par sujet. Le questionnaire, des versions précédentes du questionnaire, ainsi que les enquêtes connexes sont accessibles à partir que chaque page.

Qu'est-ce qu'un questionnaire? Un questionnaire est un instrument de recherche comportant une série de questions destinées à recueillir des renseignements auprès de répondants dans le cadre d'une enquête ou d'une étude statistique.

Variables et unités statistiques

Liste des variables et des unités statistiques utilisées par Statistique Canada, organisées par ordre alphabétique et par sujet.

Qu'est-ce qu'une variable? Une variable est une caractéristique d'une unité statistique que l'on observe et pour laquelle une valeur numérique ou une catégorie d'une classification peut être attribuée.

Qu'est-ce qu'une unité statistique? Une unité statistique est l'unité d'observation ou de mesure pour laquelle les données sont recueillies ou dérivées.

Classifications statistiques

Liste de classifications organisées par ordre alphabétique et par sujet.

Classification statistique : Regroupement systématique des valeurs qu'une variable peut prendre, qui comprend des classes mutuellement exclusives, couvre l'ensemble complet de valeurs et fournit souvent une structure hiérarchique pour l'agrégation des données. Plus d'une classification peut être utilisée pour représenter des données pour une variable particulière.

Consultation publique et avis

Liste des consultations publiques et des avis associés à des normes particulières. Présente des renseignements sur les variables et les unités statistiques de Statistique Canada, les classifications géographiques, ainsi que les classifications des industries, des programmes d'enseignement, des professions, des produits, et de la recherche et développement.

Produits de méthodologie et services

Autres renseignements importants

Liens menant à d'autres renseignements intéressants sur les normes :

Cadres de métadonnées

Liens internationaux

Date de modification :