LifePaths

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

The LifePaths project is now discontinued and is no longer supported.

LifePaths is a dynamic longitudinal microsimulation model of individuals and families. Using behavioural equations estimated using a variety of historical micro-data sources, LifePaths creates statistically representative samples consisting of complete lifetimes of individuals. The model's behavioural equations generate, at sub-annual resolution, the discrete events that together constitute an individual's life history. In addition to its longitudinal capabilities, a complete set of overlapping cohorts allow LifePaths to produce accurate and representative cross-sectional results from the year 1971 onwards.

LifePaths is used to analyze, develop, and cost government programs that have an essential longitudinal component, in particular those whose nature requires evaluation at the individual or family level. It can also be used to analyze a variety of societal issues of a longitudinal nature such as intergenerational equity or time allocation over entire lifetimes.

Overview

HTML Document (PDF, 228.23 KB)

This overview contains information on the current release of LifePaths, including a brief exposition of selected key concepts.

LifePaths Model

If you are have questions about LifePaths or dynamic socio-economic microsimulation, please email statcan.microsimulation-microsimulation.statcan@canada.ca

Date modified:

LifePaths

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le projet LifePaths est maintenant abandonné et n’est plus soutenu.

LifePaths est un modèle longitudinal dynamique de microsimulation des individus et des familles. À l'aide d'équations sur le comportement établies en se fondant sur diverses sources de microdonnées chronologiques, LifePaths crée des échantillons statistiquement représentatifs de cheminements de vie individuels complets. Les équations sur le comportement génèrent, au niveau de résolution infra-annuel, les événements discrets qui ensemble constituent le cycle de vie d'un individu. Outre les capacités longitudinales de ce modèle, un ensemble complet de cohortes qui se chevauchent permet à LifePaths de produire des données transversales exactes et représentatives à compter de 1971.

LifePaths est utilisé pour analyser et élaborer des programmes gouvernementaux qui ont une composante longitudinale essentielle, particulièrement ceux qui, de par leur nature, exigent une évaluation au niveau de l'individu ou de la famille, et pour en établir le coût. Il peut aussi être utilisé pour analyser diverses questions sociales de nature longitudinale comme l'équité entre les générations ou l'emploi du temps tout au long de la vie.

Vue d'ensemble

HTML Document (PDF, 356.73 Ko)

Cette vue d'ensemble contient des informations sur la version actuelle de LifePaths, incluant un bref exposé sur certains concepts clés.

Le modèle LifePaths

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de LifePaths ou de la microsimulation socioéconomique dynamique, veuillez les soumettre par courriel à statcan.microsimulation-microsimulation.statcan@canada.ca.