Demographic change

The last century has seen vast changes in Canada's population. With the notable exception of the post-war baby boom (1946 to 1965), there has been a steady decline in fertility, accompanied by a decrease in the death rate and an increase in life expectancy. These changes resulted in the aging of Canada's population. Evidence of this demographic transition can be seen in the median age of Canadians, that is, the age that divides the population in half. In 1956, the median age in Canada was 27.2 years1. It climbed to 39.5 in 20062 and is projected to reach 46.9 by 20561.

Three indicators illustrate the aging of Canada's population:  life expectancy, population composition (based on population estimates), and demographic dependency ratios.  Life expectancy reflects mortality, and therefore, levels of health and disease in the population.  As in other developed countries, life expectancy has increased in Canada and is projected to continue to rise.  In 2005, life expectancy was 78.0 years for males and 82.7 years for females3. This marks substantial gains since 1956 when life expectancy was 67.7 years and 73.0 years for males and females, respectively4  And according to projections (based on a medium mortality assumption), males born in 2031 will have an average life expectancy of 81.9 years, and females, 86.0 years1.

The composition of Canada's population also reflects the demographic shift to an older population with seniors accounting for an ever-increasing proportion of the population. In 2006, 13.7% of Canadians were 65 or older, up from 7.7% in 19562. It is projected that by 2056 seniors will comprise between 25% and 30% of the Canadian population5. While the proportion of seniors is increasing, children and young people comprise a decreasing portion of the Canadian population.  Mid last century, those aged 19 or younger made up 37% of the population compared with 24% in 20066. It is projected that the proportion of youth in Canada will continue to decline.

Changes in the demographic dependency ratios reveal Canada's shifting age structure. These ratios are the number of young people and/or seniors "dependents" for every 100 people of working-age.  Overall stability of Canada's demographic dependency ratio reflects a drop in the ratio for young people that is offset by an increase in the ratio for seniors.  

This changing population age structure has social and economic consequences7.  As many older Canadians retire and relatively fewer young people move into the workforce to replace them, a decreasing percentage of people are available to provide social and economic support for seniors. In 2006, there were 5 working-age people (20 to 64) for every senior, down from 7 in 19718.  By 2056, it is projected (based on a medium growth scenario) that there will be only 2 working–age people for every senior in Canada9.

The demographic shift continues to have an impact on many aspects of our lives, not the least of which is health.  Because Canadians are generally living longer than they did a century ago, they are more likely to experience chronic degenerative conditions such as arthritis and diabetes that develop over time and are more common at older ages.  Many chronic conditions are accompanied by pain and may result in activity limitations.  And because people often live with these conditions well into their senior years, the need for extended periods of informal care and health services grows.

Changes in fertility, death rates and life expectancy provide a backdrop against which to view changes in the health status and other aspects of Canada's population.

Please visit Health Profile for the latest health-related data for your region.


References

1. Statistics Canada. Canadian Demographics at a Glance (Catalogue 91-003) Ottawa: Statistics Canada, 2008.

2. Martel L, Caron Malenfant É. Portrait of the Canadian Population in 2006, by Age and Sex, 2006 Census. Statistics Canada Catalogue 97-551.  Ottawa: 2007.

3. Statistics Canada. Life expectancy, abridged life table, at birth and at age 65, by sex, Canada, provinces and territories, annual (years) (CANSIM Table).

4. Nagnur D. Longevity and Historical Life Tables, 1921-1981 (Abridged).  Statistics Canada, Catalogue 89-506. Ottawa: 1986.

5. Bélanger A, Martel L, Caron-Malenfant E.  Population projections for Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2005-2031. Statistics Canada, Catalogue 91-520.  Ottawa: 2005.

6. Statistics Canada.  Canada Year Book Overview 2007, 2008 (Catalogue 11-402) Ottawa: Statistics Canada, 2008.

7. Frederick J, Fast J.  Living longer, living better, 1998; Days of our lives: time use and transitions over the life course (Catalogue 89-584, no. 6) Ottawa: Statistics Canada, 2004.

8. Statistics Canada. Estimates of population, by age group and sex for July 1, Canada, provinces and territories, annual (CANSIM Table).

9. Statistics Canada. Projected population, by projection scenario, sex and age group as at July 1, Canada, provinces and territories, annual (persons  x 1,000) (CANSIM Table).

Date modified:

Évolution démographique

Au cours du dernier siècle, la population canadienne a subi de profonds changements. À part le baby–boom de l'après–guerre (1946 à 1965), qui est une exception remarquable, nous avons assisté à une diminution régulière de la fécondité, accompagnée d'une diminution du taux de mortalité et d'un accroissement de l'espérance de vie. Ces changements ont été à l'origine du vieillissement de la population canadienne. La preuve de cette transition démographique se trouve dans l'âge médian des Canadiens, c'est–à–dire l'âge qui divise la population en deux moitiés. En 1956, l'âge médian au Canada était de 27,2 ans1. En 2006, il avait augmenté à 39,5 ans2 et il est prévu qu'il atteigne 46,9 ans en 20561.

Trois indicateurs illustrent le vieillissement de la population canadienne, à savoir l'espérance de vie, la composition de la population (basée sur les estimations démographiques) et les rapports de dépendance démographique. L'espérance de vie reflète la mortalité, donc les niveaux de santé et de maladie dans la population. Comme dans d'autres pays développés, l'espérance de vie au Canada a augmenté et l'on s'attend à ce qu'elle continue à le faire. En 2005, l'espérance de vie était de 78,0 ans pour les hommes et de 82,7 ans pour les femmes3.Ces chiffres représentent des progrès considérables depuis 1956 où l'espérance de vie était de 67,7 ans pour les hommes et de 73,0 ans pour les femmes4. En outre, selon les projections (fondé sur une hypothèse de mortalité moyenne), les hommes nés en 2031 auront une espérance de vie moyenne de 81,9 ans et les femmes, de 86,0 ans1.

La composition de la population canadienne reflète également l'évolution démographique vers une population plus âgée au sein de laquelle les aînés représentent une part sans cesse croissante. En 2006, 13,7 % des Canadiens avaient 65 ans et plus, comparativement à 7,7 % en 19562. Il est prévu qu'en 2056, les personnes âgées représenteront de 25 % à 30 % de la population canadienne5. Alors que la proportion de personnes âgées augmente, les enfants et les jeunes représentent une part décroissante de la population canadienne. Au milieu du siècle dernier, les jeunes de 19 ans et moins formaient 37 % de la population comparativement à 24 % en 2006, en 20076 et en 2008. Selon les prévisions, la proportion de jeunes au Canada continuera de baisser.

Les variations des rapports de dépendance démographique révèlent une évolution de la structure par âge de la population canadienne. Ces rapports correspondent au nombre de jeunes et/ou de personnes âgées « personnes à charge » pour 100 personnes en âge de travailler. La stabilité globale du rapport de dépendance démographique du Canada reflète une diminution du rapport pour les jeunes qui est annulée par un accroissement du rapport pour les personnes âgées.

Cette évolution de la structure par âge de la population a des conséquences sociales et économiques7. À mesure qu'un grand nombre de Canadiens âgés prennent leur retraite et qu'un nombre relativement moindre de jeunes entrent sur le marché du travail pour les remplacer, un pourcentage décroissant de personnes est disponible pour assurer le soutien social et économique des personnes âgées. En 2006, on dénombrait 5 personnes en âge de travailler (de 20 à 64 ans) par personne âgée, soit une baisse par rapport au chiffre de 7, relevé en 19718. En 2056, on prévoit (fondé sur un scénario de croissance moyenne), qu'il n'y aura plus que 2 personnes en âge de travailler par personne âgée au Canada9.

L'évolution démographique continue d'avoir une incidence sur de nombreux aspects de nos vies, dont la santé, qui n'est pas le moindre d'entre eux. Les Canadiens vivant généralement plus longtemps aujourd'hui qu'il y a un siècle, sont plus susceptibles d'être victimes de maladies chroniques dégénératives, telles l'arthrite et le diabète qui se développent au cours du temps et qui sont plus fréquentes chez les personnes âgées. De nombreux problèmes de santé chroniques sont accompagnés de douleur et peuvent entraîner des limitations des activités. Comme les gens vivent avec ces problèmes de santé jusqu'à un stade fort avancé du troisième âge, le besoin de périodes prolongées de soins informels et de services de santé s'accroît.

L'évolution de la fécondité, des taux de mortalité et de l'espérance de vie constitue une toile de fond pour l'examen de l'évolution de l'état de santé et d'autres aspects de la population canadienne.

Pour les plus récentes données de la santé pour votre région, visiter le site Web Profil de la santé


Bibliographie

1. Statistique Canada 2008. Regard sur la démographie canadienne no  91-003 au catalogue, Ottawa.

2. Martel L. et E. Caron–Malenfant. 2007. Portrait de la population canadienne en 2006, selon l'âge et le sexe, Recensement de 2006, no 97-551 au catalogue de Statistique Canada, Ottawa.

3. Statistique Canada. Espérance de vie – table de mortalité abrégée, à la naissance et à 65 ans, selon le sexe, Canada, provinces et territoires, annuel (années) (tableau CANSIM).

4. Nagnur D. 1986. Longévité et tables de mortalité chronologiques (abrégées), 1921–1981, no 89-506 au catalogue de Statistique Canada, Ottawa.

5. Bélanger A., L. Martel et E. Caron–Malenfant. 2005. Projections démographiques pour le Canada, les provinces et les territoires, 2005 à 2031, no 91-520 au catalogue de Statistique Canada, Ottawa.

6. Statistique Canada .Annuaire du Canada 2007 no 11-402 au catalogue, Ottawa 2008.

7. Frederick J. et J. Fast. 2004. « Vivre plus longtemps, vivre mieux, 1998 », Emploi du temps et transitions au cours de la vie, no 89-584 au catalogue de Statistique Canada, no 6, Ottawa.

8. Statistique Canada. Estimations de la population, selon le groupe d'âge et le sexe au 1er juillet, Canada, provinces et territoires, annuel (personnes sauf indication contraire) (tableau CANSIM).

9. Statistique Canada. Population projetée, par scénario de projection, sexe et groupe d'âge au 1er juillet, Canada, provinces et territoires, annuel (personnes) (tableau CANSIM)

Date de modification :