Lifelong Learning Among Canadians Aged 18 to 64 Years: First Results from the 2008 Access and Support to Education and Training Survey

Culture, Tourism and the Centre for Education Statistics : Research Papers Logo by Tamara Knighton, Filsan Hujaleh, Joe Iacampo and Gugsa Werkneh

Introduction

Lifelong learning is increasingly recognized as an important element in today's knowledge-based economy defined by rapid advancements in technology and constantly changing skill needs. Lifelong learning acknowledges that learning is not confined to childhood or the classroom, but takes place throughout life and in a range of situations. It also recognizes that formal learning, typically concentrated in the earlier stages of life, does not necessarily sustain individuals throughout their lives any longer.

Lifelong learning is not only vital to the productivity, competitiveness and prosperity of Canada but also essential to the well-being of individual Canadians. Higher education and training result in a more educated population, which is strongly linked to safer communities, a healthy citizenry, a sustainable environment, higher levels of volunteerism and charitable giving, a greater appreciation of diversity and stronger social cohesion.

Lifelong learning is supported by education and training. Education consists of formal modes of learning and is defined as structured learning activities that lead to a credential, specifically programs that combine multiple courses toward the completion of a diploma, degree, certificate or license. Training consists of non-formal modes of learning and is defined as structured learning that does not lead to a formal credential and includes courses that are not part of a program, workshops and seminars.

Education and training are complementary. While initial education plays a key role in strengthening Canada's human capital and developing people's potential, however, it is also necessary for individuals to continually develop new skills and competencies and upgrade existing ones. Thus, it is important for Canadians not only to acquire higher education but also to participate in learning throughout life in order to manage external pressures and changes in the workforce and society at large.

In recognition of a lifelong approach to learning, the Access and Support to Education and Training Survey (ASETS) was conducted between June and October of 2008. The ASETS brings together three previous surveys that were undertaken separately to collect information about learning activities among specific population groups and for the first time provides an opportunity to examine a variety of learning experiences in a household (see text box "Access and Support to Education and Training Survey (ASETS) – Overview").

This report presents an overview of the first findings from the ASETS and consists of four sections. Section 1 explores participation in education and training among Canadians aged 18 to 64. Section 2 explores the proportion of Canadians aged 18 to 64 who had unmet training needs and the reasons why Canadians did not pursue further education or training. Section 3 explores the costs associated with education and training and the sources of funding used to finance education programs. Section 4 shifts to the next generation of learners (0 to 17 years) and examines the proportion of children whose parents save and plan for their future postsecondary studies.

Access and Support to Education and Training Survey (ASETS) – Overview

This report is based on the Access and Support to Education and Training Survey (ASETS), which was undertaken by Statistics Canada in partnership with Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC).The ASETS brings together three previous education surveys that covered specific population groups: 1) the Survey of Approaches to Educational Planning (SAEP), which focused on 0 to 18 year olds; 2) the Post-Secondary Education Participation Survey (PEPS), which focused on 18 to 24 year olds; and 3) the Adult Education and Training Survey (AETS), which focused on 25 years of age and older. While these three surveys examined specific facets of Canadian's educational experience, their integration in the ASETS allows for a more holistic approach to collecting information on participation in and financing of education and training in Canada. While the ASETS can be used to undertake the same research as the PEPS, AETS and SAEP, it can also be used to address additional research not previously possible.

The ASETS results presented in this report refer to activities undertaken between July 2007 and June 2008 reference period. Throughout this report, for ease of reading, the year 2008 is used throughout this report.

Date modified:

L'apprentissage à vie chez les Canadiens de 18 à 64 ans : premiers résultats de l'Enquête sur l'accès et le soutien à l'éducation et à la formation de 2008

Logo Culture, tourisme et Centre de la statistique de l'éducation : documents de recherche par Tamara Knighton, Filsan Hujaleh, Joe Iacampo et Gugsa Werkneh

Introduction

Il est de plus en plus reconnu que l'apprentissage à vie joue un rôle important dans l'économie du savoir d'aujourd'hui, laquelle est caractérisée par l'évolution rapide des technologies et continue des besoins de main-d'œuvre qualifiée. Qui dit apprentissage à vie dit apprentissage non seulement durant l'enfance et en classe, mais également tout au long de la vie et dans une foule de situations. Apprendre à vie, c'est aussi reconnaître que l'apprentissage formel, qui est normalement concentré en début de vie, ne subvient plus nécessairement aux besoins des gens tout au long de leur vie.

Non seulement l'apprentissage à vie est-il indispensable à la productivité, à la compétitivité et à la prospérité du Canada, mais il est également essentiel au bien-être individuel des Canadiens. La poursuite d'études plus avancées et l'acquisition de formation donnent une population plus instruite, et il y a un lien étroit entre une population plus scolarisée et des communautés plus sûres, la bonne santé, un environnement durable, davantage de bénévolat et de dons de charité, une plus grande appréciation de la diversité et une plus grande cohésion sociale.

L'apprentissage à vie s'appuie sur l'éducation et la formation. L'éducation consiste en des modes formels d'apprentissage et se définit comme des activités structurées d'apprentissage conduisant à l'obtention d'un titre, à l'issue plus précisément de programmes combinant de multiples cours menant à l'obtention d'un diplôme, d'un grade, d'un certificat ou d'une licence. La formation consiste en des modes non formels d'apprentissage et se définit comme un apprentissage structuré qui ne conduit pas à l'obtention d'un titre officiel et qui s'obtient au moyen de cours qui ne font pas partie d'un programme ainsi qu'à l'aide d'ateliers et de séminaires.

L'éducation et la formation sont complémentaires. Certes, les études initiales sont cruciales pour renforcer le capital humain du Canada et mettre en valeur le potentiel de la population, mais il est impératif que les gens continuent d'acquérir de nouvelles compétences et d'améliorer celles qu'ils ont déjà. Il est donc important pour les Canadiens de faire non seulement des études plus avancées, mais également de continuer d'apprendre tout au long de leur vie afin de composer avec les pressions externes et les changements en milieu de travail et dans la société en général.

C'est en reconnaissance de cette nécessité d'apprendre tout au long de la vie que s'est tenue l'Enquête sur l'accès et le soutien à l'éducation et à la formation (EASEF) de juin à octobre 2008. L'EASEF regroupe trois enquêtes antérieures qui étaient réalisées séparément pour recueillir de l'information sur les activités d'apprentissage de groupes de population particuliers et offre pour la toute première fois la possibilité d'examiner un éventail d'expériences d'apprentissage au sein d'un ménage (voir l'encadré « Enquête sur l'accès et le soutien à l'éducation et à la formation (EASEF) – Aperçu ».

Le présent rapport donne en quatre sections un aperçu des premiers constats de l'EASEF. La section 1 explore la participation des Canadiens de 18 à 64 ans à des études et à de la formation. La section 2 s'intéresse à la proportion des Canadiens de 18 à 64 ans qui avaient des besoins de formation insatisfaits de même qu'aux raisons pour lesquelles les Canadiens n'avaient pas entrepris d'autres études ou suivi d'autre formation. La section 3 traite du coût des études et de la formation ainsi que des sources de financement utilisées pour financer les programmes d'études. La section 4 se tourne vers la nouvelle génération d'apprenants (0 à 17 ans) et examine la proportion des enfants dont les parents épargnent et planifient pour leurs futures études postsecondaires.

Enquête sur l'accès et le soutien à l'éducation et à la formation (EASEF) – Aperçu

Le présent rapport découle de l'Enquête sur l'accès et le soutien à l'éducation et à la formation (EASEF), qui a été menée par Statistique Canada en partenariat avec Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC). L'EASEF regroupe trois enquêtes antérieures qui visaient trois groupes particuliers : 1) l'Enquête sur les approches en matière de planification des études (EAPE), qui mettait l'accent sur les 0 à 18 ans; 2) l'Enquête sur la participation aux études postsecondaires (EPEP), qui était centrée sur les 18 à 24 ans; et 3) l'Enquête sur l'éducation et sur la formation des adultes (EEFA), qui ciblait les 25 ans et plus. Ces trois enquêtes exploraient des facettes bien précises de l'expérience éducative des Canadiens, mais le fait de les intégrer en une seule enquête, l'EASEF, permet d'aborder de manière plus globale la collecte d'information sur la participation à des études et à de la formation et sur le financement de celles-ci. Bien qu'on puisse utiliser l'EASEF pour faire les mêmes recherches que celles de l'EPEP, de l'EEFA et de l'EAPE, on peut également s'en servir pour mener d'autres recherches qu'il aurait été impossible de réaliser auparavant.

Les résultats de l'EASEF contenus dans le présent rapport portent sur les activités qui ont été entreprises entre les mois de juillet 2007 et juin 2008. Tout au long du présent rapport, l'année 2008 est utilisée pour faciliter la lecture.

Date de modification :