Canadian Agriculture at a Glance

A collage of agricultural products. Collage created by: Margaret Morris. Photos:  Jerry Baziliauskas, British Columbia Wine Institute, Erik Dorff, Norman Dorff, Rick Dunphy, D.W. Goerzen: SASPA,  Lynda Kemp, Cyd Rainville, Paul Young, the Ontario Agriculture Photo Library, and the Canola Council of Canada.

About the artists

This edition of Canadian Agriculture at a Glance aims to open the barn doors of Canadian agriculture to farming and non-farming Canadians by providing an informative and unbiased look at the state of agriculture in the country.

The 2011 Census of Agriculture—the basis for the articles—found fewer than 1% of Canadians are farm operators. Yet, all Canadians participate in the agri-food sector when they go grocery shopping and make food choices.

Statistics Canada’s mandate is to provide information to all Canadians so they can make sound, fact-based decisions—whether on the farm or in the grocery aisle. Its wealth of objective data on the agriculture sector can help you make your own choices.

Overview of livestock farm operating expenses

October 2014

By Jean-Mathieu Lachapelle, Agriculture Division

An overview of operating expenses of Canadian livestock farms. The expenditures vary depending on the province, production method and industry type. The summary analysis makes it possible to compare the movement of expenditures for each dollar spent.

Pulses in Canada

August 2014

By Ellen Bekkering, Agriculture Division

A pulse is an edible seed harvested from the pod of a variety of annual leguminous plants. Pulses grown in Canada include, mainly, dry beans, dry peas, lentils and chickpeas. According to the 2011 Census of Agriculture, pulses represented approximately 6% of field crop area in Canada in 2011, while wheat and canola accounted for almost 50%. Pulse area and production in Canada has increased since the 1980s, making the country one of the leading producers and exporters of pulses worldwide.

The changing face of the Canadian hog industry

July 2014

By Yan Brisson, Agriculture Division

The Canadian hog industry has changed greatly over the years. Data collected by the Census of Agriculture show that the industry has undergone a radical transformation. It has evolved from being an industry with a very large number of mixed farms, each possessing only a few pigs, to one with fewer large and highly specialized farms. It now plays a major role in exports and is constantly improving in terms of technology.

Feeding the soil puts food on your plate

May 2014

By Erik Dorff and Martin S. Beaulieu

As crops grow, they deplete the soil's fertility by absorbing nutrients from the land. These nutrients, then, need to be replenished in order to ensure that there is something in the soil for the next year's crops. Canadian agriculture relies heavily on commercial fertilizers as well as manure to replenish soil's nutrients. This article examines how farmers provide their crops with the nutrients they need to grow and how these farming practices have changed over time.

The changing face of the Canadian fruit and vegetable sector: 1941 to 2011

April 2014

By Erik Dorff, Statistics Canada

The 2011 Census of agriculture revealed a number of shifts in the Horticulture sector.  Growth in the domestic greenhouse industry and an increase in imports have offered a greater range of food choices in recent decades.  Changes in farming practices, such as increasing reliance on mechanization, have also played a role in shaping the mix of commodities grown on Canadian farms in 2011.

This article compares 2011 Census data on horticulture to the figures reported on the 1941 Census.  The 1941 Census is noteworthy as it counted the most farms ever reported since agriculture data began to be collected in Canada.  This comparison also provides a description of the changes that have occurred in horticulture over the span of seventy years.   

Corn: Canada's third most valuable crop

March 2014

Marie-Andrée Hamel and Erik Dorff, Agriculture Division

When it comes to cereal crop production around the world, corn is king. This may come as a surprise to many. Anyone who has ever seen the endless seas of golden wheat on the Canadian Prairies might think that this lynchpin of Canadian agriculture is the number one cereal crop.

The same might be thought of rice and the landscape of paddies stretching as far as the eye can see across Asia. But instead, the most produced cereal crop worldwide is actually corn (also known as maize), a cereal native to the Americas. It outstrips both rice and wheat in terms of global production.

Demographic changes in Canadian Agriculture

February 2014

Martin S. Beaulieu, Agriculture Division

The structure of agriculture has changed significantly over the last two decades with fewer but larger farms. While there were 280,043 farms in 1991, according to the Census of Agriculture, by 2011, that number had gradually declined to 205,730. Since 1991, the average farm area increased from 598 to 778 acres, while the number of farm operators decreased from 390,875 to 293,925, a 24.8% drop. Over the same period, the average age of farm operators increased, rising from 47.5 to 54.0 years.

Date modified:

Publications

Un coup d'œil sur l'agriculture canadienne

Un coup d'œil sur l'agriculture canadienne

Un collage des produits agricoles. Le collage est créé par : Margaret Morris. Photos : Jerry Baziliauskas, Institut du vin de Colombie-Britannique, Erik Dorff, Norman Dorff, Rick Dunphy, D.W. Goerzen: SASPA,  Lynda Kemp, Cyd Rainville, Paul Young, la Ontario photothèque agriculture et le Conseil canadien du canola.

Au sujet des artistes

Cette édition d’Un coup d’œil sur l’agriculture canadienne vise à ouvrir les portes des étables de l’agriculture canadienne aux agriculteurs et aux non agriculteurs et à leur présenter une information utile et impartiale, sur l’état de l’agriculture au pays.

Dans le Recensement de l’agriculture de 2011 — sur lequel sont fondés les articles — on a constaté que moins de 1 % des Canadiens sont des exploitants agricoles. Or, tous les Canadiens participent au secteur agroalimentaire lorsqu’ils vont faire leurs emplettes au magasin d’alimentation et qu’ils choisissent des aliments.

Statistique Canada a pour mandat de bien informer tout les Canadiens afin qu’ils puissent prendre des décisions judicieuses fondées sur des faits, à la ferme ou au magasin d’alimentation. Le document contient une multitude de données objectives sur le secteur de l’agriculture afin que vous puissiez faire vos propres choix.

Survol des dépenses d’exploitation des fermes d’élevage

Octobre 2014

Par Jean-Mathieu Lachapelle, Division de l’agriculture

Un survol des dépenses d’exploitation a permis de mieux comprendre quels sont les postes de dépenses importants des fermes d’élevage canadiennes. Ces dépenses varient entre autres selon la province, le type de production et le type d’industrie étudiés. L’analyse sommaire permet de comparer le mouvement des dépenses pour chaque dollar déboursé.

Les légumineuses au Canada

Août 2014

Par Ellen Bekkering, Division de l’agriculture

Les légumineuses sont des semences comestibles récoltées à l'état de gousse d'une variété de plantes légumineuses annuelles. Les légumineuses cultivées au Canada comprennent, notamment, les haricots secs, les pois secs, les lentilles et les pois chiches. Selon les données du Recensement de l'agriculture de 2011, les légumineuses représentaient environ 6 % des superficies consacrées aux grandes cultures, tandis que le blé et le canola représentaient près de 50 % de cette superficie. La superficie et la production des légumineuses sont en hausse depuis les années 1980, faisant du pays l'un des principaux producteurs et exportateurs de légumineuses au monde.

Évolution de l'industrie porcine canadienne

Juillet 2014

Par Yan Brisson, Division de l’agriculture

L’industrie porcine canadienne a bien évolué au fil des années. Les données recueillies au moyen du Recensement de l’agriculture révèlent que cette industrie s’est transformée radicalement. D’un très grand nombre de fermes mixtes possédant chacune seulement quelques porcs, elle est passée à un nombre restreint de fermes très spécialisées et de plus grande taille. Elle occupe aujourd’hui un rôle majeur au chapitre des exportations et s’améliore sans cesse sur le plan technique.

L'engraissement des sols nourrit la population

Mai 2014

Par Erik Dorff et Martin S. Beaulieu

À mesure que les cultures poussent, elles épuisent la fertilité des sols en y absorbant les éléments nutritifs. Ces éléments nutritifs doivent ensuite être reconstitués afin qu'il y ait quelque chose dans les sols pour les cultures de l'année suivante. L'agriculture canadienne dépend beaucoup des engrais chimiques et du fumier pour reconstituer les éléments nutritifs du sol. Le présent article examine la manière dont les agriculteurs fournissent à leurs cultures les éléments nutritifs dont ils ont besoin pour pousser et la manière dont ces pratiques agricoles ont évolué au fil du temps.   

L'évolution du secteur canadien des fruits et légumes : de 1941 à 2011

Avril 2014

Par Erik Dorff, Statistique Canada

Le Recensement de l’agriculture de 2011 a relevé plusieurs changements dans le secteur de l’horticulture. La croissance de l’industrie des cultures de serre nationale et la hausse des importations ont donné lieu à un plus large éventail de choix alimentaires au cours des dernières décennies. L’évolution des pratiques agricoles, comme le recours accru à la mécanisation, a également joué un rôle dans l’offre variée de produits cultivés dans les fermes canadiennes en 2011.

Le présent article compare les données du Recensement de 2011 sur l’horticulture aux chiffres déclarés dans le cadre du Recensement de 1941. Le Recensement de 1941 se démarque des autres, ayant dénombré le plus grand nombre de fermes jamais déclaré depuis le début de la collecte de données sur l’agriculture au Canada. En outre, la comparaison permet de décrire les changements qui sont survenus dans le secteur de l’horticulture en 70 ans.  

Le maïs : troisième culture en importance au Canada

Mars 2014

Marie-André Hamel et Erik Dorff, Division de l’agriculture

Le maïs est la céréale par excellence en ce qui concerne la production dans le monde. Voilà un fait qui pourrait en surprendre plus d’un, car quiconque a déjà vu les champs infinis de blé doré dans les Prairies canadiennes serait porté à penser que ce fleuron de l’agriculture canadienne est la première culture céréalière en importance.

On pourrait penser de même du riz en regardant les rizières qui s’étendent à perte de vue partout en Asie. Mais, au contraire, la céréale la plus produite mondialement est en fait le maïs (également appelé blé d’Inde), une céréale indigène des Amériques. Il devance le riz et le blé pour ce qui est de la production mondiale.

Changements démographiques dans le secteur canadien de l’agriculture

Février 2014

Martin S. Beaulieu, Division de l’agriculture

La structure de  l’agriculture a considérablement évolué au cours des deux dernières décennies, le nombre de fermes ayant diminué mais leur taille ayant augmenté. Selon le Recensement de l’agriculture, le nombre de fermes a graduellement diminué entre 1991 et 2011, passant de 280 043 à 205 730. Depuis 1991, la superficie agricole moyenne est passée de 598 à 778 acres, tandis que le nombre d’exploitants agricoles a diminué pour passer de 390 875 à 293 925, ce qui représente une baisse de 24,8 %. Pendant cette même période, l’âge moyen des exploitants agricoles a augmenté, passant de 47,5 à 54,0 ans.

Date de modification :