Modgen (Model generator)

Modgen (Model generator) is a generic microsimulation programming language supporting the creation, maintenance and documentation of dynamic microsimulation models. Several types of models can be accommodated, be they continuous or discrete time, with interacting or non-interacting populations.

Furthermore, a model developer does not need to have advanced programming skills as a prerequisite to use Modgen. This is possible because Modgen hides underlying mechanisms like event queueing, and creates a stand-alone model executable program with a complete visual interface and detailed model documentation. Model developers can therefore concentrate on model specific code: the declaration of parameters, simulated actors, and events.

High efficiency coding also extends to a model's output. The programming of an output table only requires a couple of lines. Tabulation is done in continuous time and includes a mechanism for estimating the Monte Carlo variation for any cell of any table.

Getting started

Provides links to introductory material intended for both those who are new to microsimulation itself and those who are familiar with microsimulation but new to Modgen


Contains the essential software that needs to be downloaded to use Modgen--Modgen itself (to develop models) and Modgen Prerequisites (to run models). The BioBrowser application (for visualizing individual life courses) is also available here, as are two sample models, one with interacting populations and one with non-interacting populations.


Provides links to the three main product guides available with Modgen--the Modgen Developer's Guide, the Guide to the Modgen Visual Interface, and the BioBrowser User's Guide. Each guide is also available in .pdf format.


Information on upcoming Modgen courses, as well as presentation material from several technical Modgen workshops delivered recently at Statistics Canada (such as workshops related to building a model, distributing a model, documenting a model, etc.)

Date modified:

Modgen (Générateur de modèles)

Modgen (Générateur de modèles) est un langage générique de programmation pour la microsimulation qui supporte la création, le maintien et la documentation des modèles de microsimulation dynamiques. Plusieurs types de modèles peuvent être créés, en temps continu ou en temps discret, avec des populations qui interagissent ou non.

Un concepteur de modèle n'a pas besoin de capacités de programmation avancées pour pouvoir utiliser Modgen. Cela est possible parce que Modgen cache les mécanismes de base tels que la file d'attente des événements et crée un modèle autonome avec une interface visuelle complète et une documentation détaillée du modèle. Les concepteurs de modèles peuvent donc concentrer sur le code spécifique au modèle, soit la déclaration des paramètres, des acteurs simulés et des événements.

La grande efficacité dans la programmation s'applique également aux résultats du modèle. La programmation d'un tableau de sortie ne requiert que quelques lignes de code. La tabulation est faite en temps continu et inclue un mécanisme d'estimation de la variation de Monte Carlo pour toute cellule de tout tableau.

Pour commencer

Fournit des liens aux différentes introductions prévues pour les gens qui ne connaissent pas encore la microsimulation, ainsi que pour les gens qui conanissent la microsimulation mais ne connaisse pas encore Modgen.

Télécharger

Contient les applications logicielles essentielles à télécharger afin d'utiliser Modgen—Modgen (pour développer des modèles) et les Composants Préalables à Modgen (pour exécuter des modèles). L'application BioBrowser (afin de visualiser des cheminements de vie individuels) est également disponible ici, ainsi que les deux modèles exemples, l'un avec une population qui interagit et l'autre avec une population qui n'interagit pas.

Formation

Information sur les sessions de formation à venir ainsi que téléchargement de matériel provenant de plusieurs ateliers techniques sur Modgen offerts en 2008 (tels que des ateliers pour créer un modèle, pour distribuer un modèle, pour documenter un modèle)

Date de modification :