Participation in private retirement savings plans,  1997 - 2008

Pension and Wealth Section1 Income Statistics Division
Statistics Canada

by Karim Moussaly

Abstract

Amidst the financial crisis and changes in the labour market, retirement savings plans are subject to greater scrutiny. The retirement income system in Canada stands on both public and private retirement savings plans. This article describes the coverage of Canadian workers by private retirement savings plans. Using cross-sectional tax data from the T1 Family File, we describe the coverage of Canadian employed tax filers aged 15 or more by employer-sponsored pension plans (EPPs) and whether or not they contributed to Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs) in 1997,2000,2003, 2006 and 2008. The share of employed tax filers participating in either type of plan declined from 54% in 1997 to 50% in 2008  and this is mainly driven by a decreasing share of employed tax filers contributing to a RRSP. The share of employed tax filers participating in an EPP remained fairly stable over the period.

Introduction

The population of Canada is ageing:  the median age in Canada increased from 35.2 years old in 1996 to 39.3 years old in 20082.  This results in a larger share of the population getting closer to retirement.  How are Canadians getting financially prepared for retirement? Retirement income may come from what are commonly refered to as the 'three pillars' of retirement income protection (Baldwin, 2006)3.  Pillar 1 consists of the federal Old Age Security (OAS) and Guaranteed Income supplement (GIS) programs. Retirement income from pillar 2 consists of income from the Canada and Québec Pension Plans (C/QPP).  Pillar 3 consists of income generated from private retirement savings plans, the most common being Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs) and employer-sponsored pension plans (EPPs)4

This article focuses on savings habits in the third pillar.  The tax system provides incentives to save for retirement in the plans that are part of the third pillar.  By encouraging savings for retirement, these vehicles allow averaging income over one's lifetime.  In this article employer-sponsored pension plans (EPPs) refers to Registered pension plans(RPPs) and deferred profit sharing plans(DPSPs).

Using the complete T1 Family File for the first time allows a cross-sectional descriptive analysis of employed tax filers who reported a pension adjustment (PA) amount, which reflects the benefits accrued for the employee in an EPP, and/or who contributed to a RRSP in 1997, 2000, 2003, 2006 and 2008. 

Section 1 provides a brief description of the tax treatment of retirement savings plans in Canada, which is followed by a description of the data in section 2Section 3 presents characteristics of employed tax filers participating in a private retirement savings plan as well as those who do not participate in any of the private retirement savings plan considered in our analysis.

Highlights:

  • The share of employed Canadian tax filers participating in a private retirement savings plan was 50% in 2008, slightly down from 54% in 1997. This decline reflects mostly a drop in the share of employed tax filers contributing to a Registered Retirement Savings Plan from 41% in 1997 to 34% in 2008.  The share of employed tax filers participating in an employer-sponsored pension plan remained stable at 32% over the period.

  • The rate of participation in employer-sponsored pension plans increased for women from 32% in 1997 to 34% in 2008, while declining for men from 33% to 31% over the period.  In 2008, the number of EPP members was higher for women than for men, while it was lower for the previous years. 

  • Participation in private retirement savings plan is the highest for 'prime-aged' workers (those aged between 35 and 54 years old): 63% of them participated in such a plan in 2008.  However, the rate of participation in employer-sponsored pension plans declined slightly for this age group between 1997 and 2008, while it increased or remained fairly stable for the other age groups.

  • The rate of participation in private retirement savings plans remained stable in the lowest income quintile between 1997 and 2008, while it declined within each of the other quintiles.  The rate of participation in employer-sponsored pension plans increased for the three lowest income quintiles and decreased for the two highest income quintiles over the period.  However, the increases in the lowest income quintiles were offset by decreases in participation rates in Registered Retirement Savings Plans, as all income quintiles registered decline.


  1. We thank the following people from Statistics Canada for their suggestions and support:  Bruno Pépin, Karen Dorman, John Nicoletta and Brian Murphy from the Income Statistics Division, Michel Palardy and Francine Monette from the Small Area and Administrative Data Division and Grant Schellenberg from the Social Analysis Division.  We would also like to thank Bob Baldwin for his useful comments.  Any error remain our own.
  2. Source:  Statistics Canada, CANSIM table  051-0001. 
  3. The 'three pillars' classification comes from work conducted by the World Bank in the 1990's that has since been refined.  Some authors use different definitions of the three pillars.
  4. Dividing the third pillar into workplace pension plans and RRSPs reflects distinction in the Canadian tax law (Baldwin 2006, p.384).

Participation aux régimes privés d'épargne-retraite, 1997-2008

Section des enquêtes sur les pensions et le patrimoine1
Division de la statistique du revenu
Statistique Canada

par Karim Moussaly

Résumé

Les régimes d'épargne-retraite font l'objet d'un examen plus approfondi dans la foulée de la crise financière et des changements ayant cours sur le marché du travail. Le système de revenu de retraite du Canada repose à la fois sur des régimes d'épargne-retraite gouvernementaux et privés. Dans le présent article, nous brossons un tableau de l'adhésion des travailleurs canadiens à un  régime privé d'épargne-retraite. Nous décrivons, à l'aide des données fiscales transversales tirées du fichier sur la famille T1, l'adhésion des déclarants canadien (âgés de 15 ans et plus et ayant un revenu d'emploi) à un régime de retraite d'employeur (RRE) et nous indiquons s'ils ont cotisé à un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) en 1997, 2000, 2003, 2006 et 2008. La part des déclarants avec revenus d'emploi qui participaient à l'un de ces régimes est passée de 54 % en 1997 à 50 % en 2008, principalement en raison de la baisse de la part des déclarants avec revenus d'emploi qui cotisaient à un REER. La part des déclarants avec revenus d'emploi qui participaient à un RRE est demeurée relativement stable au cours de cette période.

Introduction

La population canadienne vieillit : l'âge médian au Canada est passé de 35,2 ans en 1996 à 39,3 ans en 20082. De ce fait, la retraite approche pour une plus grande part de la population. Comment les Canadiens préparent-ils leur retraite sur le plan financier? Les revenus de retraite peuvent provenir de ce que l'on appelle couramment les « trois piliers » du système de revenu de retraite (Baldwin, 2006)3. Le premier pilier correspond aux programmes de Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV) et de Supplément de revenu garanti (SRG). Les revenus du deuxième pilier proviennent du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) et du Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ). Le troisième pilier comprend le revenu provenant des régimes privés d'épargne-retraite, les plus courants étant les régimes enregistrés d'épargne-retraite (REER) et les régimes de retraite d'employeur (RRE)4.

Cet article porte sur les habitudes d'épargne du troisième pilier. Le système fiscal fournit des incitatifs d'épargne-retraite dans des régimes qui font partie du troisième pilier. Ces instruments, qui encouragent l'épargne en prévision de la retraite, permettent d'étaler le revenu d'une personne tout au long de sa vie. Dans cet article, les régimes de retraite d'employeur (RRE) désignent les régimes de pension agréés (RPA) ainsi que les régimes de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB).

L'utilisation, pour la première fois, de l'ensemble des données du fichier sur la famille T1 a permis de réaliser une analyse descriptive transversale des déclarants avec revenus d'emploi qui ont déclaré un facteur d'équivalence (FE), correspondant aux prestations accumulées de l'employé dans un RRE, ou qui ont cotisé à un REER en 1997, 2000, 2003, 2006 et 2008.

La section 1 présente une brève description du traitement fiscal des régimes d'épargne-retraite en vigueur au Canada, suivie d'une description des données à la section 2. La section 3 présente les caractéristiques des déclarants avec revenus d'emploi qui participent à un régime privé d'épargne-retraite ainsi que les caractéristiques des déclarants avec revenus d'emploi qui ne participent à aucun régime privé d'épargne-retraite dont nous avons tenu compte dans notre analyse.

Faits saillants :

  • La part des déclarants canadiens avec revenus d'emploi qui participaient à un régime privé d'épargne-retraite était de 50 % en 2008, soit légèrement inférieure à celle de 1997 qui était de 54 %. Cette baisse témoigne essentiellement d'une chute de la part des déclarants avec revenus d'emploi cotisant à un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER), passant de 41 % en 1997 à 34 % en 2008. La part des déclarants avec revenus d'emploi qui participaient à un régime de retraite d'employeur (RRE) est demeurée relativement stable à 32 % au cours de cette période.

  • Le taux de participation aux régimes de retraite d'employeur a augmenté chez les femmes de 32 % en 1997 à 34 % en 2008 alors qu'il a diminué chez les hommes passant de 33 % à 31 % au cours de la même période. En 2008, le nombre d'adhérents à des RRE était plus élevé chez les femmes que chez les hommes, alors qu'il était inférieur au cours des années précédentes.

  • Le taux de participation à un régime privé d'épargne-retraite est le plus élevé chez les travailleurs « d'âge intermédiaire » (âgés de 35 à 54 ans) : 63 % d'entre eux participaient à un tel régime en 2008. Toutefois, le taux de participation à des régimes de retraite d'employeur a connu une légère baisse pour ce groupe d'âge entre 1997 et 2008, tandis qu'il a augmenté ou est demeuré relativement stable pour les autres groupes d'âge.

  • Entre 1997 et 2008, le taux de participation à des régimes d'épargne-retraite privés est demeuré stable pour le quintile de revenu inférieur, alors qu'il a diminué pour tous les autres quintiles. Au cours de cette période, le taux de participation à des régimes de retraite d'employeur a augmenté pour les trois quintiles de revenu inférieurs et a diminué pour les deux quintiles de revenu supérieurs. Or, les hausses observées dans les quintiles de revenu inférieurs étaient compensées par des baisses de taux de participation aux régimes enregistrés d'épargne-retraite, baisses enregistrées dans tous les quintiles de revenu.


  1. Nous remercions les personnes suivantes de Statistique Canada pour leurs suggestions et leur soutien : Bruno Pépin, Karen Dorman, John Nicoletta et Brian Murphy de la Division de la statistique du revenu, Michel Palardy et Francine Monette de la Division des données régionales et administratives ainsi que Grant Schellenberg de la Division de l'analyse sociale. Nous aimerions également remercier Bob Baldwin pour ses commentaires utiles. Nous assumons l'entière responsabilité des erreurs qui pourraient se trouver dans le présent rapport.
  2. Source : Statistique Canada, CANSIM, tableau  051-0001.
  3. La classification des « trois piliers » est tirée des travaux menés par la Banque mondiale dans les années 1990, qui ont depuis été perfectionnés. Certains auteurs utilisent différentes définitions des trois piliers.
  4. La division du troisième pilier en régimes de pension de l'employeur et en REER traduit la distinction établie dans le droit fiscal fédéral (Baldwin, 2006, p. 384).
Date de modification :