Economic importance of culture and sport in Canada

4.1 Culture in Canada

This section presents the CSA estimates for reference year 2010, first from a product perspective and then from the industry aspect.

Product perspective

From a product perspective, culture accounted for 3.1% of Canada's GDP in 2010.Note 1 Culture GDP at basic prices equaled $47.8 billion. It accounted for 647,300 jobs in 2010, contributing 3.7% to total employment. Culture output totaled $93.2 billion or 3.0% as a share of total economy. Table 7 below summarizes the key findings for culture output, culture GDP and culture jobs.

The largest contributors to culture GDP were: Audio-visual and interactive media ($14.8 billion), Visual and applied arts ($10.2 billion) and Written and published works ($10.0 billion), as shown in Chart 1 and Appendix A Table A.1.

Chart 1 Culture gross domestic product, by domain, Canada, 2010 (product perspective)

Description of Chart 1

Chart 2 illustrates culture GDP by sub-domain. It reveals that the broadcasting sub-domain contributed by far the most to culture GDP at $8.1 billion followed by the film and video sub-domain ($3.4 billion).

Chart 2 Culture gross domestic product, by sub-domain, Canada, 2010 (product perspective)

Description of Chart 2

Industry perspective

Culture industries accounted for 3.2% of the total output in Canada, reaching $99.3 billion in 2010. Table 8 shows the output, GDP and jobs in the culture industries.

GDP of culture industries was $53.2 billion in 2010, contributing 3.4% to Canada's total GDP. Of which culture products accounted for $40.7 billion and other products (i.e., non-culture products) $12.5 billion.

In 2010, the total number of jobs in Canada was 17.3 million. Culture industries accounted for 703,900 jobs, a 4.0% share. This includes jobs associated with the production of culture and non-culture products.

The largest contributors to the GDP of culture industries (presented by domain) were: Audio-visual and interactive media ($13.8 billion) followed by Visual and Applied Arts  ($13.4 billion), Written and published works ($10.1 billion), and Governance, funding and professional support($8.0 billion), as shown in Chart 3 below with additional data available in Appendix A, Table A.2.

Chart 3 Gross domestic product of culture industries, by domain, Canada, 2010 (industry perspective)

Description of Chart 3

Chart 4 below shows the total number of jobs in culture industries in Canada by domain. The largest contributors to jobs to the economy were: Visual and Applied Arts (192,000 jobs) followed by Written and published works (145,900 jobs), Audio-visual and interactive media (117,400 jobs) and Governance, funding and professional support (98,700 jobs).

Chart 4 Jobs in culture industries, Canada, 2010 (industry perspective)

Description of Chart 4

4.2 Sport in Canada

Product perspective

Sport GDP equaled $4.5 billion, contributing 0.3% to Canada's economy in 2010. Output of sport activities totaled $7.2 billion or 0.2%, as a share of total economy. Sport jobs totaled 93,500 in 2010 or (0.5%) of the total jobs in Canada. Table 9 summarizes the key findings for sport output, sport GDP and sport jobs (product perspective).

The largest contributors to sport GDP were: Organized sport ($1.9 billion) and Education and training ($1.4 billion), as shown below in Chart 5.

Chart 5 Sport gross domestic product, by domain, Canada, 2010 (product perspective)

Description of Chart 5

Industry perspective

GDP of sport industries was $5.2 billion in 2010, contributing 0.3% to Canada's total GDP. Of this, 85.4% is attributable to the production of sport products within the sport industries (refer to Appendix A.2).

Sport industries formed $8.3 billion of the total production in Canada. Of this, sports products accounted for $7.1 billion and other products (i.e., non-sport products) $1.2 billion. Table 10 summarizes the key findings for sport output, sport GDP and sport jobs (industry perspective).

Sport industries accounted for 105,200 jobs, a 0.6% share of the total economy. Almost 90% (93,200) of the jobs in sport industries are sport jobs, but the sport industries also contribute non-sport jobs (12,000 jobs) to the economy.

The largest contributors to GDP of sport industries were: Organized sport with $2.0 billion and Education and training with $1.7 billion, as shown in Chart 6 below.

Chart 6 Gross domestic product of sport industries, by sub-domain, Canada, 2010 (industry perspective)

Description of Chart 6

The largest contributors to jobs in sport industries were: Organized sport with 57,400 jobs and Education and training with 28,500 jobs, as shown below in Chart 7.

Chart 7 Jobs in sport industries, Canada, 2010 (industry perspective)

Description of Chart 7

4.3 Culture position in the Canadian economy

In order to understand the importance of the Culture Industry in the Canadian economy, it is advantageous to compare the industry's performance against that of other industries. Chart 8 shows the GDP of various industries compared to the GDP of the culture industry.

Chart 8 Gross domestic product, by selected industries, Canada, 2010

Description of Chart 8

At $47.8 billion, the culture industry's contribution to Canadian GDP is larger than that of the Utilities, or Accommodation industries which amounted to $35 billion and $32 billion respectively. Culture industry's contribution was more than double that of the Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting industry, which equaled $23 billion.

Note

  1. The Culture Satellite account measures only the direct effects of culture as opposed to indirect and induced effects.
Date modified:

L’importance économique de la culture et du sport au Canada

4.1 La culture au Canada

La présente section présente les estimations du CSC pour l’année de référence 2010, d’abord dans la perspective du produit, puis dans celle de l’industrie.

Perspective du produit

Dans la perspective du produit, le secteur de la culture représentait 3,1 % du PIB du Canada en 2010Note 1. Aux prix de base, le PIB de la culture s’établissait à 47,8 milliards de dollars. Le secteur de la culture était à l’origine de 647 300 emplois en 2010, soit 3,7 % de l’emploi total. La production du secteur de la culture se chiffrait à 93,2 milliards de dollars, ce qui représente 3,0 % de l’ensemble de l’économie. Le tableau 7 qui suit résume les principaux résultats pour la production, le PIB et l’emploi liés à la culture.

Les industries qui ont contribué le plus au PIB liés à la culture étaient celles de l’audiovisuel et des médias interactifs (14,8 milliards de dollars), des arts visuels et appliqués (10,2 milliards de dollars) et des écrits et ouvrages publiés (10,0 milliards de dollars), comme l’illustre le graphique 1 et le tableau A1 en annexe.

Graphique 1  Produit intérieur brut de la culture, par domaine, Canada, 2010 (perspective du produit)

Description du graphique 1

Le graphique 2 illustre le PIB de la culture par sous-domaine. Il révèle que le sous-domaine de la radiodiffusion est celui qui, de loin, a contribué le plus au PIB de la culture, soit 8,1 milliards de dollars, suivi par le sous-domaine du film et de la vidéo, à 3,4 milliards de dollars.

Graphique 2  Produit intérieur brut de la culture, par sous domaine, Canada, 2010 (perspective du produit)

Description du graphique 2

Perspective de l'industrie

Les industries de la culture étaient à l’origine de 3,2 % du total des produits du Canada, atteignant 99,3 milliards de dollars en 2010. Le tableau 8 montre la production, le PIB et l’emploi dans les industries de la culture.

Le PIB des industries de la culture se situait à 53,2 milliards de dollars en 2010, représentant 3,4 % du PIB total du Canada. De ce montant, les produits de la culture représentaient 40,7 milliards de dollars et les autres produits (c’est-à-dire, les produits non culturels), 12,5 milliards de dollars.

En 2010, le nombre total d’emplois au Canada était de 17,3 millions. Les industries de la culture représentaient 703 900 emplois, soit une part de 4 %. Cela inclut les emplois associés à la production de produits de la culture et de produits non culturels.

Les industries qui ont contribué le plus au PIB des industries de la culture (présentées selon le domaine) étaient celle de l’audiovisuel et des médias interactifs (13,8 milliards de dollars), suivie par celles des arts visuels et appliqués (13,4 milliards de dollars), des écrits et ouvrages publiés (10,1 milliards de dollars), et de la gouvernance, du financement et du soutien professionnel (8,0 milliards de dollars), comme le montre le graphique 3 qui suit et les données supplémentaires disponibles à l’annexe A, tableau A.2.

Graphique 3  Produit intérieur brut des industries de la culture, par domaine, Canada, 2010 (perspective de l'industrie)

Description du graphique 3

Le graphique 4 qui suit montre le nombre total d’emplois dans les industries de la culture au Canada, par domaine. Les industries qui ont contribué le plus à l’emploi dans l’économie étaient celle des arts visuels et appliqués (192 000 emplois), suivie par celles des écrits et ouvrages publiés (145 900 emplois), de l’audiovisuel et des médias interactifs (117 400 emplois) et de la gouvernance, du financement et du soutien professionnel (98 700 emplois).

Graphique 4  Emplois dans les industries de la culture, Canada, 2010 (perspective de l'industrie)

Description du graphique 4

4.2 Le sport au Canada

Perspective du produit

Le PIB du sport se chiffrait à 4,5 milliards de dollars, c’est-à-dire 0,3 % du PIB du Canada en 2010. La production d’activités sportives valait 7,2 milliards de dollars ou une part de 0,2 % de l’ensemble de l’économie. L’emploi lié au sport était de 93 500 en 2010 ou (0,5 %) du nombre total d’emplois au Canada. Le tableau 9 résume les principaux résultats pour la production, le PIB et l’emploi liés au sport. (perspective du produit)

Les contributions les plus importantes au PIB du sport étaient celles des sports organisés (1,9 milliard de dollars) et de l’éducation et de la formation (1,4 milliard de dollars), comme le montre le graphique 5 qui suit.

Graphique 5  Produit intérieur brut du sport, par domaine, Canada, 2010 (perspective du produit)

Description du graphique 5

Perspective de l'industrie

Le PIB des industries du sport se chiffrait à 5,2 milliards de dollars en 2010, ce qui représentait 0,3 % du PIB total du Canada. De ce montant, 85,4 % étaient attribuables à la production de produits du sport dans les industries du sport. (voir Annexe A.2)

Ces dernières ont été à l’origine de 8,3 milliards de dollars de la production totale du Canada. De ce montant, les produits du sport représentaient 7,1 milliards de dollars et les autres produits (c.-à-d. les produits non liés au sport), 1,2 milliard de dollars. Le tableau 10 résume les résultats clés de la production, le PIB et l’emploi dans les industries du sport. (perspective de l’industrie).

Les industries du sport ont fourni 105 200 emplois, c’est-à-dire 0,6 % de l’emploi total au Canada. Près de 90 % (93 200) des emplois dans les industries du sport sont des emplois liés au sport, mais les industries du sport fournissent aussi à l’économie 12 000 emplois non liés au sport.

Les contributions les plus importantes au PIB des industries du sport étaient celles des sports organisés, soit 2,0 milliard de dollars, et de l’éducation et formation, soit 1,7 milliard de dollars, comme le montre le graphique 6 qui suit.

Graphique 6  Produit intérieur brut des industries du sport, par domaine, Canada, 2010 (perspective de l'industrie)

Description du graphique 6

Les contributions les plus importantes à l’emploi dans les industries du sport étaient celles des sports organisés, qui ont fourni 57 400 emplois et de l’éducation, qui en a fourni 28 500, comme le montre le graphique 7 qui suit.

Graphique 7  Emplois dans les industries du sport, Canada, 2010 (perspective de l'industrie)

Description du graphique 7

4.3 Position de la culture dans l'économie canadienne

Afin de saisir l’importance du secteur de la culture dans l’économie canadienne, il est utile de comparer son rendement à celui d’autres industries. Le graphique 8 montre le PIB de diverses industries comparativement au PIB du secteur de la culture.

Graphique 8  Produit intérieur brut, certaines industries, Canada, 2010

Description du graphique 8

La contribution du secteur de la culture (47,8 milliards de dollars) au PIB canadien est plus importante que la contribution des secteurs des services publics et de l’hébergement, qui étaient de 35 milliards de dollars et de 32 milliards de dollars, respectivement. La contribution du secteur de la culture valait plus du double de celle du secteur de l’agriculture, de la foresterie, de la pêche et de la chasse, qui se chiffrait à 23 milliards de dollars.

Note

  1. Le Compte satellite de la culture mesure uniquement les effets directs de la culture par opposition aux effets indirects et induits.
Date de modification :