Juristat

2015

Homicide in Canada, 2014

by Zoran Miladinovic and Leah Mulligan

Release date: November 25, 2015

This Juristat explores the characteristics of all homicide incidents, victims, and accused persons in 2014 and compares these findings to short- and long-term trends. New data on the nature and extent of homicides involving Aboriginal victims and accused persons is also presented.

Criminal victimization in Canada, 2014

by Samuel Perreault

Release date: November 23, 2015

This Juristat article presents the first results from the 2014 General Social Survey on Victimization. The analysis provides insight on the nature and extent of criminal victimization in the 10 provinces.

Corrections and updates:  Emergency preparedness in Canada, 2014

by Andrea Taylor-Butts

Release date: October 28, 2015 Correction date: March 23, 2016

The article “Emergency Preparedness in Canada, 2014” which was released on October 28th, 2015 was reloaded on March 23, 2016. A coding error was detected in the calculation of “recent immigrant” which affected data tables and analysis focusing on this population. These revisions affect the recent immigrant data presented in tables 7, 8, 9 and 12 and appendix tables A to C.

Trends in offences against the administration of justice

by Marta Burczycka and Christopher Munch

Release date: October 15, 2015

In this Juristat, the volume and nature of offences against the administration of justice reported by police and processed through the adult criminal courts are examined.

Youth court statistics in Canada, 2013/2014

by Sarah Alam

Release date: September 28, 2015

Using data from the Integrated Criminal Court Survey, this article presents information on youth court cases completed in Canada in 2013/2014.

Adult criminal court statistics in Canada, 2013/2014

by Ashley Maxwell

Release date: September 28, 2015

This Juristat utilizes data from the 2013/2014 Integrated Criminal Court Survey (ICCS), and presents information on the characteristics of criminal court cases involving adults (18 years and older).

Police-reported crime statistics in Canada, 2014

by Jillian Boyce

Release date: July 22, 2015

This annual Juristat article presents findings from the 2014 Uniform Crime Reporting Survey. It examines trends in the volume and seriousness of police-reported crime for both violent and non-violent offences at the national, provincial/territorial and census metropolitan area levels.

Cases in adult criminal courts involving intimate partner violence

by Pascale Beaupré

Release date: July 8, 2015

This Juristat profiles the characteristics of completed cases in adult criminal courts and highlights differences and similarities between those involving intimate partner violence and non-intimate partner violence. The report analyses outcomes of completed cases, the sentences imposed, and the time required to complete intimate partner violence cases and non-intimate partner violence cases.

Shelters for abused women in Canada, 2014

by Sara Beattie and Hope Hutchins

Release date: July 6, 2015

This Juristat Bulletin presents the most up-to-date information on residential facilities in Canada that offered shelter to abused women in 2013/2014. Specific issues include: rates of admission to shelters, the reasons women had for seeking shelter, and characteristics of the facilities providing services.

Drug-related offences in Canada, 2013

by Adam Cotter, Jacob Greenland, and Maisie Karam

Release date: June 25, 2015

This Juristat article examines the trends in police-reported drug crime as well as a sub-set of criminal courts cases which were successfully linked to Controlled Drugs and Substances Act offences. Using data from the Uniform Crime Reporting Survey and a link completed using the Integrated Criminal Court Survey, this article explores the short and long-term trends in drug offences, the types of drugs and offences, court case decisions, and the characteristics of adults and youth accused.

Trends in reporting criminal victimization to police, 1999 to 2009

by Mire Sinha

Release date: June 22, 2015

Using the General Social Survey on Victimization, this Juristat explores trends in reporting to police over time, noting differences across offences and provinces. It also examines factors influencing the decision to report to police and any shifts in these factors.

Police-reported hate crime in Canada, 2013

by Mary Allen

Release date: June 9, 2015

This Juristat article examines the nature and extent of police-reported hate crime in Canada. Key topics include motivations for hate crime (e.g. race/ethnicity, religion, and sexual orientation), types of offences, geographical comparisons and accused/victim characteristics.

Mental health and contact with police in Canada, 2012

by Jillian Boyce, Cristine Rotenberg and Maisie Karam

Release date: June 2, 2015

This Juristat article reports on Canadians' with a mental or substance use disorder and their contact with police. Using data from the 2012 Canadian Community Health Survey—Mental Health, this article explores the type of contact that Canadians with a disorder have with police and how it differs from those without a disorder.

Police-reported crime in Canada's Provincial North and Territories, 2013

by Mary Allen and Samuel Perreault

Release date: May 5, 2015

This Juristat uses data from the Uniform Crime Reporting survey (UCR) to examine the nature and extent of police-reported crime in northern regions of the provinces and the territories, as compared to crime in the south. The analysis will focus on types of crime, level of seriousness and who are the perpetrators and victims in these different regions.

Youth correctional statistics in Canada, 2013/2014

by Correctional Services Program

Release date: April 22, 2015

This Juristat bulletin provides a statistical overview of youth under correctional supervision in Canada in 2013/2014. Analysis is presented at the national as well as the provincial and territorial levels. Average counts, intakes, admissions and the characteristics of youth in the correctional system (such as age, sex and Aboriginal identity) are discussed.

Adult correctional statistics in Canada, 2013/2014

by Correctional Services Program

Release date: April 22, 2015

This Juristat Bulletin provides a statistical overview of adults admitted to and released from custody and community supervision in Canada in 2013/2014. Analysis is presented at the national as well as the provincial and territorial levels. Average counts and the incarceration rates are presented. Admissions and the characteristics of adults in the correctional system (such as age, sex and Aboriginal identity) are also discussed.

Legal aid in Canada, 2013/2014

by Manon Diane Dupuis

Release date: April 8, 2015

This Juristat bulletin presents the most up-to-date results from the Legal Aid Survey which collects information on the operation of Canada's 13 legal aid plans. Information is provided on revenues, expenditures, personnel, and caseload (e.g., applications for legal aid services) associated with the delivery of legal aid in Canada.

Police resources in Canada, 2014

by Hope Hutchins

Release date: March 30, 2015

This Juristat article examines trends in police personnel and expenditures on policing for Canada, the provinces and territories, and census metropolitan areas. Additionally, other statistics, including hirings and departures, eligibility to retire, rank, gender, age group, and years of service of police officers are presented.

Date modified:

Juristat

2015

L'homicide au Canada, 2014

par Zoran Miladinovic et Leah Mulligan

Date de diffusion : Le 25 novembre 2015

Dans le présent article de Juristat, on se penche sur les caractéristiques des affaires, des victimes et des auteurs présumés d'homicide en 2014 et l'on compare ces constatations aux tendances à court et à long terme. Cet article présente également de nouvelles données sur la nature et l'étendue des homicides impliquant des victimes et des auteurs présumés autochtones.

La victimisation criminelle au Canada, 2014

par Samuel Perreault

Date de diffusion : Le 23 novembre 2015

Cet article de Juristat présente les premiers résultats de l’Enquête sociale générale sur la victimisation menée en 2014. On y fournit de l’information sur la nature et l’étendue de la victimisation criminelle dans les 10 provinces.

Corrections et mises à jour : La préparation aux situations d’urgence au Canada, 2014

par Andrea Taylor-Butts

Date de diffusion : Le 28 octobre 2015 Date de correction : Le 23 mars 2016

L’article « La préparation aux situations d’urgence au Canada, 2014 », diffusé le 28 octobre 2015, a été rechargé le 23 mars 2016. Une erreur de codage a été remarquée dans le calcul des « immigrants récents », ce qui a eu une incidence sur les tableaux de données et l’analyse portant sur cette population. Les révisions touchent les données sur les immigrants récents présentées dans les tableaux 7, 8, 9 et 12 ainsi que dans les tableaux des annexes A à C.

Tendances des infractions contre l’administration de la justice

par Marta Burczycka and Christopher Munch

Date de diffusion : Le 15 octobre 2015

Dans le présent article de Juristat, on examine le volume et la nature des infractions contre l’administration de la justice qui ont été déclarées par la police et traduites devant les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes.

Statistiques sur les tribunaux de la jeunesse au Canada, 2013-2014

par Sarah Alam

Date de diffusion : Le 28 septembre 2015

À l’aide des données tirées de l’Enquête intégrée sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle, le présent article porte sur les causes réglées par les tribunaux de la jeunesse au Canada en 2013-2014.

Statistiques sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes au Canada, 2013-2014

par Ashley Maxwell

Date de diffusion : Le 28 septembre 2015

Le présent Juristat s’appuie sur les données de l’Enquête intégrée sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle (EITJC) de 2013-2014 et comprend des renseignements sur les caractéristiques des causes portées devant les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes (18 ans et plus).

Statistiques sur les crimes déclarés par la police au Canada, 2014

par Jillian Boyce

Date de diffusion : Le 22 juillet 2015

Cet article annuel de Juristat révèle les résultats du Programme de déclaration uniforme de la criminalité de 2014. On y examine les tendances du volume et de la gravité des crimes violents et sans violence déclarés par la police à l’échelle du pays, des provinces et territoires, et des régions métropolitaines de recensement.

Causes réglées par les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes relatives à la violence entre partenaires intimes

par Pascale Beaupré

Date de diffusion : Le 8 juillet 2015

Le présent article de Juristat traite des caractéristiques des causes réglées par les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes et fait ressortir les différences et les ressemblances entre les affaires de violence entre partenaires intimes et les affaires de violence commises par  d'autres personnes. Cet article permet d'analyser les verdicts des causes réglées, les peines imposées, et le temps requis pour régler les causes de violence entre partenaires intimes et les causes de violence non liée à un partenaire intime.

Les refuges pour femmes violentées au Canada, 2014

par Sara Beattie and Hope Hutchins

Date de diffusion : Le 6 juillet 2015

Ce Bulletin Juristat présente les données les plus récentes sur les établissements d'hébergement au Canada qui ont offert un refuge aux femmes violentées en 2013-2014. Il traite notamment des taux d'admissions dans les refuges, des raisons pour lesquelles les femmes cherchent refuge et des caractéristiques des établissements qui offrent des services.

Les infractions relatives aux drogues au Canada, 2013

par Adam Cotter, Jacob Greenland, and Maisie Karam

Date de diffusion : Le 25 juin 2015

This Juristat article examines the trends in police-reported drug crime as well as a sub-set of criminal courts cases which were successfully linked to Controlled Drugs and Substances Act offences. Using data from the Uniform Crime Reporting Survey and a link completed using the Integrated Criminal Court Survey, this article explores the short and long-term trends in drug offences, the types of drugs and offences, court case decisions, and the characteristics of adults and youth accused.

Tendances du signalement des incidents de victimisation criminelle à la police, 1999 à 2009

par Mire Sinha

Date de diffusion : Le 22 juin 2015

À l’aide des données de l’Enquête sociale générale sur la victimisation, le Juristat permet d’explorer les tendances des signalements à la police au fil du temps et de faire ressortir les différences entre les infractions et les provinces. On aussi examine les facteurs influant sur la décision de signaler un incident à la police ainsi que tout changement visant ces facteurs.

Les crimes haineux déclarés par la police au Canada, 2013

par Mary Allen

Date de diffusion : Le 9 juin 2015

Le présent article de Juristat porte sur la nature et l'étendue des crimes haineux déclarés par la police au Canada. Les principaux sujets comprennent les facteurs motivant les crimes de haine (p. ex. la race ou l'origine ethnique, la religion et l'orientation sexuelle), les types d'infractions, des comparaisons entre les régions, et les caractéristiques des victimes et des auteurs présumés.

La santé mentale et les contacts avec la police au Canada, 2012

par Jillian Boyce, Cristine Rotenberg and Maisie Karam

Date de diffusion : Le 2 juin 2015

Le présent article de Juristat fait état des Canadiens ayant un trouble mental ou un trouble lié à l'utilisation de substances et de leurs contacts avec la police. À l'aide des données de l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes — Santé mentale de 2012, l'article porte sur le type de contact que les Canadiens aux prises avec un trouble ont avec la police et la différence entre ces contacts et ceux des membres de la population ne présentant aucun trouble.

Les crimes déclarés par la police dans le Nord provincial et les territoires du Canada, 2013

par Mary Allen and Samuel Perreault

Date de diffusion :: Le 5 mai 2015

Le présent article de Juristat examine la nature et l’étendue des crimes déclarés par la police dans les régions du Nord des provinces et dans les territoires, comparativement à la criminalité dans le Sud. L’analyse porte sur les types de crimes, leur niveau de gravité et la question de savoir qui sont les agresseurs et les victimes dans ces différentes régions.

Statistiques sur les services correctionnels pour les jeunes au Canada, 2013-2014

par Programme des services correctionnels

Date de diffusion : Le 22 avril 2015

Le présent bulletin Juristat donne un aperçu statistique des jeunes sous surveillance correctionnelle au Canada en 2013-2014. L'analyse est présentée à l'échelon du pays ainsi qu'à celui des provinces et des territoires. On y examine les comptes moyens, les entrées initiales, les admissions ainsi que les caractéristiques (comme l'âge, le sexe et l'identité autochtone) des jeunes sous surveillance correctionnelle.

Statistiques sur les services correctionnels pour adultes au Canada, 2013-2014

par Programme des services correctionnels

Date de diffusion : Le 22 avril 2015

Le présent bulletin Juristat donne un aperçu statistique des adultes au Canada qui, en 2013-2014, ont été placés sous garde ou admis à un programme de surveillance dans la collectivité, ou qui en ont été libérés. L'analyse est présentée à l'échelon du pays ainsi qu'à celui des provinces et des territoires. On y examine les comptes moyens et les taux d'incarcération. Le bulletin porte également sur les admissions et les caractéristiques (comme l'âge, le sexe et l'identité autochtone) des adultes se trouvant dans le système correctionnel.

L'aide juridique au Canada, 2013-2014

par Manon Diane Dupuis

Date de diffusion : Le 8 avril 2015

Le présent bulletin Juristat expose les résultats les plus récentes de l'Enquête sur l'aide juridique, qui permet de recueillir de l'information sur le fonctionnement des 13 régimes d'aide juridique au Canada. Information est fournie sur les recettes, les dépenses, le personnel et le nombre de cas associés (c.-à-d. le nombre de demandes d'aide juridique) à la prestation de services juridiques du Canada.

Les ressources policières au Canada, 2014

par Hope Hutchins

Date de diffusion : Le 30 mars 2015

Cet article de Juristat examine les tendances du personnel policier et les dépenses au chapitre des services policiers au Canada, dans les provinces et les territoires et dans les régions métropolitaines de recensement. En outre, d'autres statistiques, y compris les embauches et les départs, l'admissibilité à la retraite, le grade, le sexe, le groupe d'âge et les années de services des policiers sont présentés.

Date de modification :